Writing songs

in #listnerds2 years ago

Writing songs is my passion Whats yours.png
(made in Canva)

Writing Songs is What I love to do

Writing songs has always been a past time for me,
I started writing when I was about 13 years old.
I was raised by parents who loved music.
Both were raised in the 1950,s so I heard a lots of music from that generation. My mom loved the Kinston Trio and Belafonte along with a lot of be bop music. My dad liked the blues so he listened to Muddy waters and Chuck Berry. to name a few.

I found the Moody Blues and the Beatles when I was 8 years old and was totally influenced by the music of the Sixtys.
I started playing the piano and guitar around this time also.
Playing folk songs was how I started on the guitar so by the time I was 12 I wanted to write songs.

When I was a teen I was influence by all the 70's rock especially The Moody Blues, Pink Floyd Yes, and Neil Young to name a few.
I would spend hours upon hours listening to records and learning every lick I could find.
That period made me a better musician so my songs became better.

So far I have written about 50 songs in my life and only a hand full have ever been recorded.
I continue to write and play with my band "Sugarplum The Band".

About 20 years ago I became a recording engineer and started
doing sound for other bands. This really helped me understand the ins and outs of music production. I don't do a lot of sound any more but I have a fairly nice Digital Audio work station (DAW) that I use to record at home.

It has been a great journey.
I still love to perform as much as I can.

Are you a song writer?

What's your Story?

Sort:  

Any chance we can have a look at your DAW? Also what software are you using, and is it on Windows or Linux?

Voted on ListNerds!

Ya I will write an article on that. I think I mentioned some of it in a post a month or two ago
Thanks for the comment.
!CTP

Not a songwriter, but one of my sons had a band in my garage for a while. I enjoyed listening to them write songs. One day there would be one line, over and over. Then the next day they added more. Eventually, I was washing dishes to the sound of a finished song. So much fun. !BBH

Thats the way to collaborate.
I love doing that.
Thanks for commenting.
!CTP

I love to write about music and use music in my writings. Trying several format atm !CTP

Awesome I will check out your posts if I haven't already.
!CTP

It is a good creative talent to be able to express oneself in song writing. I envy people who can easily do that. Well done.

Thank you .
It is something I love for sure.
I am sure you have your passions.
!CTP

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

Very nice, Tom. I do not have an artistic bone in my body, lol.
I admire those like you that can write music.
!CTP

Aw come on. I bet you are creative some how.
I appreciate the comment

I am probably most creative when it comes to excuses, lol

I could never write a song or any kind of music. Thanks for sharing your talent.

We all have different talents and gifts.
I admire the way you write your posts.
You seem to have a knack for writing.