The beauty of WORDs #1

in #literature8 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians.

All my life I had passion for literature, mainly in my native language Spanish but having been forged in the digital era you cannot avoid getting exposed to different languages and cultures from all around the globe. 

With some languages you get very familiar, others you find them exotic and strange at the same time, but truth be told you always find precious linguistic gems that make you smile once you understood the real meaning of the word.

[Picture taken by me]

Don't get me wrong, I'm not talking about the translation of such word, I'm talking about the whole concept behind it. In my particular case I really love words that don't have a counterpart in my native language, and that at the same time are strongly linked to the culture they come from.

For this post I wanted to share a particular word that holds dear to my heart: 

[Designed by me, background image: Shutterstock]

This is a swedish word that describes the moment when the full moon has low altitude in the water's horizon, almost touching it, creating with its reflection a path that's seems to be made of  pure silver.

That entire moment is Mångata, but the word itself comes from Måne, which means Moon and Gata that means road or street. And It has been known to be used since 1890.

 Mångata is also the word I had chosen to name my house, since that roadlike reflection created during this particular moment is what I believe could be considered the most wonderful path nature can gives us. A path that leads directly to the sky.

Always keep this in mind, the world is a very colorful place and there is no chance words will be any different.

Hope you enjoyed it! And follow me if you would like to know more about other words.

Sort:  

Thank you for this. I had never heard of that word before, but it is beautiful, and so is your story. :)

Thank you @uniwhisp, glad you liked it

This is an interesting topic to ponder. English was my second-language, though at this point it could be considered my first because I don't remember my native Romanian, and so I've always been fascinated with words themselves. It's a fun and engaging exercise to consider the words themselves, not just in the context of their meaning, but what they sound like and what sense they convey in speech and in written form :)

Good comment @anarcho-andrei. I have done the same practice with spanish as well. I don't know if this happened to you, but in your native language sometimes you say a word or repeat a saying but never take the time to analyze from where it comes from, or why you even say what you say.

Oh I know. And when you stop to think about it, sometimes they make no sense at all, and you have to scratch your head and wonder "why on Earth do I use this phrase?"