Some Parents Take Little League Baseball and Soccer too Serious!

in #littleleague5 years ago

I've always thought the exercise was important for the kids. That's why I have mine join little league teams.

Right now they are in karate, baseball, and soccer. They did swimming when they were younger and may do something with a little more physical contact when they are older. Some of the other parents are really into it. They always talk about how their child is the best on the team or is going to be a superstar. I find this sort of silly given the children are all still under 10. It's really too early to scout talent at this age. Well, maybe it isn't but there are hardly any superstars on any of the teams.

littleleague
These kids are having fun playing little league baseball. Your child's privacy is important, this is not mine: Pixabay

At a young age, sports are meant to promote a healthy active lifestyle and perhaps coordination, team building, confidence and maybe even leadership. Better get your child some math lessons at this age. They will need to feel good in school for the next 10 ~ 15 years. Actually, when I talked to the coach, he said it isn't until around 14 years old that he is sure if a child will be a pro or not and it's difficult to even notice until 12. Just so much can happen from now until then.

I'm always worried if I push too much, they will stop enjoying it. They will see sports as another chore, or worse as homework. I don't want to fight to get the kids into the car. I want them to look forward to it. We always eat fruit and other healthy snacks before, but after we stop for a treat. Burgers and shakes are a good treat to motivate children to enjoy sports. If they have fun and behave, it's a great reward.

I've seen some of the parents just push their children way too hard. Your kid is 8, they are not a professional. The children always seem upset. They don't even look like they enjoy the sport. Their parents are into the activity more than they are. This is unhealthy. I'm not even sure if it works. In any case, it is not for me.

soccer
These kids are having fun playing soccer. Your child's privacy is important, this is not mine: Pixabay

I like getting an iced latte and sitting in the shade while my children have fun. I try to put down my phone for most of the game, especially when the kids have a tournament or aren't distracted doing warm-ups.

Obviously, I would love for my children to play MLB baseball or even just get a college scholarship or do well on a high school team. However, I think being healthy and happy is most important.