makes the invisible visible // upgrading your mac experience // why little snitch 4 is worth it.

in #littlesnitch6 years ago

Little Snitch 4 is a fantastic piece of software that’s really matured over the years to the point where now it’s made the difficult nature of real time alerting and realtime traffic and networking rules really easy to do, it’s not cheap at forty euros but it’s certainly worth every penny when it comes to reducing anxiety.

being on top of the potential of malware, droppers, viruses and getting roped into some bot network, it gives me the peace of mind that I know what’s going on with my mac after my routers basic protections and when you have nasty CPU bugs like spectre and meltdown around anything additional makes the difference.

Every start of the year I always do this when I’m upgrading software and hardware, making sure I have the latest version, really paying money up front to have the latest piece of software, even hardware if I can afford it means that I don’t have to worry about upgrading throughout the year.

It can give me some good active computing runway before I have to do system admin again, that being said being on top of your daily networking comms is a must, think of it like insurance that you can do the things you need to do on a daily basis while minimising the downtime of being a computer user.

If you are a Mac user that get’s even a little bit paranoid about software you have downloaded or feel your computer is running a little slow, have crypto wallets on your machine or run any kind of torrent software you certainly need some kind of traffic management and router tools even if you are using public wifi with a vpn, trust me, it’s the number one space that drive by script kiddies are exploring these days and it’s accelerated over the last year alone what with KRACK and these CPU bugs.

Invest the money in these tools, learn how they work, it can save you valuable setup time while using your computer actively on a daily basis and less downtime means you can get more down in a safer environment.

TRUST AND AUTHENTICATION. .

http://socialgandalf.com/legacypinterest epic wins pinboard → i was a brand advocate for nokia, 1000heads, verisign → won a vloggie for involvement in node666 (san francisco 2006) → on television for time team history hunters 1999 (burton on trent) → sold me.dm to evan williams (twitter) in april 2011 for 5 figures → went to phil campbell, alabama to help repair/recovery/help raise money month after a tornado ripped through the town (was on sky news, bbc news, al jazeeza, nightly news, alabama weather channel?!) → CNN for sxsw 2013 about austin south by southwest event → video chat with robert scoble from rackspace → i was in a music video can you spot me? → won the digital derry contest for 5k euros to kickstart web tv studio → did project work with sleepydog indirectly for nesta (responder) → crowdfunded digital signage concept called the pi street (do it for steem?)

☂ᗴᗩᙢᖺᘮᙢᕊᒪᗴ
together we win

@teamhumble - general blogposts
@teamaudio - decentralized audio on dtube
@teamvideo - decentralized video & tutorials
@cryptocards - reviewing atm and virtual credit cards
@nomadpictures - pics and snaps from the road
@bansko - co-working basecamp
@cinemagraph - free and paid cinemagraphs
@eresidency - information for estonian e-residency
@everydaycarry - steemians every day carry
@vlogging - day to day vlogging videos
@texttosteem - text to audio services

» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» INSTARARA «
» PODCAST «
Sort:  

Excellent information my friend, you do it very well written and makes it perfectly understood, in regard to software is something that would be very but very useful, although its price is high is very good, greetings brother and blessings from Latin America.

protection always comes with a cost! :)

is a really nice post, thanks for the tip friend

A nicely written and easy to understand review. I didn't now such software existed outside of the usual anti virus 'stuff'. Something I may consider once I've saved some pennies.

yeah it's a cool piece of software, really makes you realise 'what's running' and if you have a variety of programs on your machine and are a curious type downloading different things it's a must! especially if you have crypto wallets and such like.

Invest the money in these tools, learn how they work, it can save you valuable setup time while using your computer actively on a daily basis and less downtime means you can get more down in a safer environment.

This is a well calculated thought, I'll suggest it to friends

Great tip, I hadn't heard of that app before but I love all the data it looks to provide. The visual of where the servers you're connecting are on a map is pretty awesome.

For those that are running Windows, Glasswire is a similar option.

nice fellow tip! cheers brother.

Very important information friend thanks for sharing the software are somewhat expensive but a very useful tool your writing is well done I understood it quite greetings

Thank you very much for the knowledge of friends. My computer is very slow running, with your posting is very helpful to me. I wait for your next writing.

Good advice!
I have paid for a copy; it's on another machine and I'm not even running at the moment but time to get off my ass..

yeah man get it sorted. better to be safe and all that! :)