Luke's Code: March 15th, 2024 Draft

in #live-by-codelast month

Inspired by a friend posting about the importance of men living according to a Code, here's my first draft of what my Code might look like:


From the highest possible perspective, everything is perfect. Fundamental wellbeing is accessible at any moment, a simple breath away. I am connected to everything, made of the same energy substance. In every moment, regardless of circumstance, I have a choice between the truth of unified love or the illusion of separation through fear. I will always seek truth which means to be less out of alignment with what is and letting go of that which is false. At times this means choosing truth over comfort, harmony, and the status quo which is a tradeoff I’m always willing to make because I believe, on a long enough time scale, truth leads to deeper joy which includes love, peace, and all the fruit of the spirit because the singular, undivided truth is the fundamental unity of all things.

I am an explorer, and I prioritize discovering more about my true nature and the nature of reality. I intend to share my ever-improving understanding with the world, starting with my self, my family, and my community, both online and in person. This sharing serves my pursuit of understanding and knowing. I accept feedback openly, especially with regards to areas of improvement which can increase my own wellbeing and that of those I love and respect. I know this journey of discovery involves change within me and that change can feel disruptive to those around me, especially those who can’t regularly update the mental map they keep of me or those who define their identity in some small part through their relationship with me. I’m okay with this tradeoff and won’t restrict my journey of self development to appease others. I also won’t renounce my responsibilities as a husband, father, or community member by getting lost in the journey.

My journey includes the exploration of the non-physical (spiritual) aspects of our conscious experience. My thoughts, ideas, beliefs, and worldview will not be limited by contrivances constructed to limit or control. If something is false, it can not be true, no matter how convenient it might be to pretend otherwise. Avoiding what is true in an area that matters only brings hardship and prevents the development and evolution of consciousness which I believe is a significant reason for my existence here and now.

I do not lie.
I do not cheat.
I do not steal.
Though I will give my life defending what I love, if necessary, I do not initiate violence which is a tragic expression of an unmet need.
Every challenge has an energetic signature beyond what I may or may not recognize as physical, and I do not shrink back from these challenges but use them to grow.
I do not chase money or financial value for its own sake but see it as a tool to create the life of wellbeing I desire.
My love for others includes wanting to help and even change them which I recognize as a persistent weakness within me I am working to overcome because I know everything is ultimately perfect. Instead, I will strive to live a life worthy of emulation, calling all who see it forward to greater wellbeing as part of their own individual journey.

I am a lover, not a fighter, but if my journey requires physical violence, I’m here for it. I’m open to wherever my path takes me while also recognizing my own creative ability to manifest the experiences of life I want. Wherever I go, I will be respected among my peers who I respect. When people meet me, they remember it, because I have something of interest or value to contribute to them and the conversation.

I stay active and physically fit, enjoying my passion for the ocean via sports like wing foiling. I invite my children into exciting experiences. I don’t deny my desires, but out them in a healthy way. I create a safe home for my family and most importantly, my wife and lover. I prioritize her pleasure and supporting her journey in the best ways possible. I will always do what I believe is right such that everyone who knows me will never question my deeply held good intentions. I am not perfect and have much to learn because my story, part of the grand, perfect, timeless story, is still playing out.


If you had to describe the Code you live by, what would it be? Use the #live-by-code tag, if you want to.

Sort:  

Namaste.

i may write about "my" code in response. We'll see :-)

Peace & love brother