Blockchain scam - they even twisted me, well almost.

in #live2 years ago

I wrote so much about frauds that extort data and money using various methods, and what today I fell victim to such a scam, fortunately I figured it out in time, but whether it will really turn out in the next few days or months.

payment-scams.png

I'll start from the beginning. Today is Children's Day, the house is full of guests, so a bit of harmony and noise. The phone is ringing for me, and there is a guy in the receiver who does not speak Polish well enough. In my opinion, he is some kind of Ukrainian, but I may be wrong. In the background you can hear that it is some Call Center. A guest saying my name says that my subscription to which cryptocurrency investment platform is ending and he would like to know what to do with the funds on the account. Do I extend the investment or withdraw funds to my account?

In fact, it surprised me a lot, I remembered that somewhere I once paid a thousand for something like this, but there was no use for it, only the losses themselves. I figured that was what it was all about. The guy said he would show me the amount in BTC but I have to install some of their app. I told him I didn't have Windows but Linux. This one told me to go to some English site and download the application for linux.

I did it, downloaded the program on my Kaliega and started the installation. It turned out that there were bugs and my ass was pale. The guest said that then I can install it on the phone and look for the application in the google store. I found, installed and gave him 9 digits generated by the program. Now he asked me to enter the address "blockchain.com" in my browser, only that this address dictated me letter by letter and very slowly.

When I entered the website, he slowly dictated the address of the wallet to me and told me to check how much money I had on this wallet and what to do with it. It was the amount of PLN 35,000. Back then, it hadn't occurred to me that this was a fraud. Harmider in the house, the noise in the background of the phone made me completely misinformed, I could not think normally.

The next step was to google the bank and give it some technical number. I entered Mbank and did what he said step by step. I only have 2 zlotys on my account. I couldn't find this tech number so I said I still have a Revolt. Without begging me, he asked me to open Revolt and give him the card number and security code to verify the data. I practically never have funds on this account, so I gave it to him.

He said that he already had everything that he would call me within two days to confirm the payment on the card in the application. He thanked him and hung up.

I was still sitting at the computer for 10 more minutes before it dawned on me that I had just fallen victim to scammers.

I went to the website of this installed application and translated the content via google. It turned out to be a virtual desktop nothing else. By giving him those 9 digits, I gave the bastard access to the phone. Slowly dictating addresses was just giving him time to go through the phone and probably download some stuff. So to sum up, he saw my phone, saw two banks. Fortunately, the account's eye is empty. In Revolt, I immediately blocked the card and generated a second one. I have automatically changed all my email and other passwords. Now the only thing left to do is to wait if something else will come, e.g. a loan.

Well, I am so cautious, who always checks everything and seems to be impossible to outsmart myself like a child. Eh ... I'm just wondering whether I should go to the police tomorrow and not report it.
And one more interesting fact, because I wonder how it is possible. After changing the passwords, I decided to call back the number displayed to me, I was surprised when the phone was answered by a young man who spoke good Polish. I told him who called me from this number and he said that it was impossible ... but possible only how?