Making a Heavy Duty Wallet from Feed Bags

in #livesustainably6 years ago (edited)

If you hate throwing away 40# feed bags like I do, then you stumbled across the right post!

IMG_0132(1).jpg

Here is a simple way to reuse a very strong and flexible material -- perfect for a wallet that gets opened and closed hundreds of times. I have used my first version for over six months and as you can see, the wear is barely visible. In fact, it breaks in and gets more comfortable over time just like a good leather wallet. An added benefit is that its a quirky conversation starter. I even get a chuckle over being judged by random snooty cashiers! No adhesive or stitching is necessary with this design, so there is even less to break down over time.

IMG_0174(1)(1).jpg

It is fairly complicated to make the folds, but this design not only provides inner pockets for cards, but also two divided full-length compartments for bills, etc.

I made the template by tracing a wallet someone gave me as a gift several years ago. Someone made it out of house wrap. The template material is from an old children's map book that has seen better days -- another score for re-using something. The words "front" and "back" on the template correlate to what part of the feed bag will be on the front and back of the wallet.

IMG_0137(1).jpg

This image shows the bag that has been cut and is ready to fold.

IMG_0139(1).jpg

Don't forget to cut the hole in the middle which will be where you slide cards.

IMG_0140.jpg

IMG_0146.jpg

Here are the dimensions of the template.

It helps to crease the folds with a hard object.

IMG_0142(1).jpg

Step 1: fold the small tabs like so:

IMG_0148.jpg

Step 2: the first section gets folded like so:

IMG_0153.jpg

Step 3: and then he next two sections get folded like an accordion:

IMG_0149 2.jpg

Step 4: Fold the rounded tabs into the pockets on both sides:

IMG_0157 2.jpg

IMG_0159 2.jpg

Step 5: Fold the top section down, and then fold like a taco:

IMG_0162(1).jpg

You now should have it folded in one long strip, with the last two rounded tabs remaining to be tucked:

IMG_0163(1).jpg

Step 6: Tuck the two remaining tabs into the pockets:

IMG_0164(1).jpg

IMG_0165(1).jpg

And here is what the finished wallet should look like:

IMG_0166(1).jpg

IMG_0169(1).jpg

IMG_0167(1).jpg

I know from designing this post that the folding is easier said than done, so if you decide to try it and get stuck please just comment here and I will post more photos and directions to help.

Sort:  

This is great! Very creative. I love that the cashiers give you snooty looks too. What a materialistic world we are living in. I could totally see my husband using a wallet like this too. >D
-Aimee

More often the cashiers are nice, but yes, its funny when I know its someone who is like, what the f is that?! Luckily I am pretty much over caring what anyone thinks about me :)

Not observing reactions to ourselves is challenging. I am the same way, with caring too much about what others think at times. I heard a great saying and that is, "It's none of our businss, what other people think of us."
-Aimee

Great quote!

this is so neat! if i had better sewing skills, i'd totally make a reusable grocery bag out of those feedbags. they've got some serious character! :)

I am thinking of making some bags too. But yeah, the sewing part :/. It would use more of the bag though, and definitely useful.

Very clever! I would upvote but I have no fuel left..

Lol! You better come back when you’re back to full power :). Im kidding, as I never beg for votes, but I’m dying over here since I really thought this was a great post and I’ve got zilch! I’m upvoting you’re comment just to show how desperate I am :)

Haha we all have those moments. When we pour ourselves into a post and no one sees it.

Luckily things have improved 400% since that comment! Up to 4 votes, so I will step away from the cliff and post again :)

Very crafty, wow!

That is absolutely amazing! Great use of material and a cool design!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cstrim from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.