You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Avoid Transplant Shock

wow, those plugs are so, so tiny! definitely resteeming & keeping this in mind - water wise - when i transplant soon. i've gotten better at hardening off, but there's always something that gets a bit wonky, and i bet it's usually related to not watering well enough.

Sort:  

Yeah, those plugs are indeed tiny. I didn't like them at first, but now I'm sold on that tray. Wish I could find more. I don't end up wasting any seed like I do when I plant in flats. It's also really rigid plastic that doesn't break easily or degrade.

they sure don't make things like they used to, right? i picked up some new flats this year and the plastic - both on the trays and the lids - is SO FLIMSY. it's disappointing!

That's the main reason, I think, to use actual just straight potting soil in flats and not plugs or plastic trays. Luckily you can get the larger pots for free most places (folks are always getting rid of them), but the starter plugs are hard to find for free and break apart pretty quick. The unit in the picture was given to me...I haven't been able to find it online or at any store.

very true. i am keeping my eyes & ears open over the next few months, as people will likely be getting rid of stuff soon - i want to start planning for next year!