Growing stuff

in #lockdown4 years ago

IMAG0998.jpg

Slowly more stuff is emerging. These are sprouting purple broccoli, some of which I'm going to plant out, but this lot will go in a salad still as sprouts in a day or so.

The vegetable patch is at the boring frustrating stage where everything that's in there is underground and invisible. I just make sure to water regularly and have a think about what else might go in. Garlic and onions and ginger are all doing something under the soil.

My solitary lettuce grown from the stem of last week's salad bowl is doing great, lapping up the current sunshine. It's a bit shy so we'll give it a few more days before sharing photos, but it's great to have at least one little bit of deliberate green showing.

Elsewhere in the garden the dandelions are showing themselves, so there's plenty to do to get rid of them before they spread their seed even further.

But mostly right now, I just want to sit with a cup of tea and listen to the birdsong.

Sort:  

Is it me or is there more birdsong this year? I've been enjoying it. We have various seeds showing themselves in the ground and pots. Prepared some beds to plant up.

Do you eat the dandelions at all? I do feel the need to pluck the seed heads before they spread everywhere. I allowed most to flower and they are good for the bugs.

definitely more birdsong round here. my theory is that they're excited because they can hear each other instead of the traffic noise :)

I've always been tempted by dandelions, I may dig up a few roots and roast them see what that's like.

It would be great if this peace could continue indefinitely, but I fear it will end soon enough. Will we see other changes though?

I've been enjoying stuff this year thanks to my folks getting me a small greenhouse for my birthday. I've got plenty to transfer to the ground in the next few weeks; probably don't have enough ground to fit it all in! I've only tried peas and onions for direct sowing.

I've not thought about using shoots in salads - sounds like a great idea!

I'm most excited about tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers.

ooh, yes our little space isn't quite big enough for another structure, so things are squeezed in where they can fit and find some sunlight.

Sprouting broccoli shoots are good, but I also sprout mung and adzuki beans, mustard and cress, all yummy straight from the window sill :)