Started the Day with the Wrong Foot

in #londonlast year


#London Double Decker in Piccadilly Circus

Today I woke up early as I did not want to be late at work. I have deadlines to meet, many other tasks to complete and a team to be around with to provide support where needed.

I thought that it would be an ordinary day of commuting but I was unfortunately proven wrong. I got out of the flat into the freezing cold; I completely forgot to check the weather forecast and didn’t realise that the temperature was hitting negatives today. Nonetheless, I made my way to my closest tube station which is about 15 minutes walk from where I live. I tapped my Oyster card and passed through the barrier. When I got to the platform, it was too crowded to my surprise. There was no information about any delays nor indications of how long the wait would take.

I waited and waited and waited for more than 20 minutes, which is considerably long, come to think that the tube is supposed to depart every 3-4 minutes. I started to become impatient and stressed out, thinking about the many tasks I have ahead of myself for the day. Upset, I made my way back up the escalator, paid the minimum fee for having gotten into the tube station and back out into the cold.

The alternative: take the bus! I have waited for another good 10 minutes when I got to the bus stop. People must have had the same idea therefore it was pretty full when I got onto it.

Despite of all of that, the day eventually got better. I was able to get a lot of things done and even received a little compliment for a contribution I have been able to make at work.

In addition to that, these two little cuties also contributed to making the day a lot better!

The lesson for the day is that, things aren’t over until they are actually over and most of the time it is a matter of making a choice, namely whether to give in to your emotions or to try see the bright side of things. Succumbing to your frustration would defeat you right there and then therefore it is important to train yourself to look beyond that and surpass the obstacles.

…tomorrow is another day to conquer!

Sort:  

The lesson for the day is that, things aren’t over until they are actually over and most of the time it is a matter of making a choice, namely whether to give in to your emotions or to try see the bright side of things.

I couldn't agree more. Unfortunately life is unpredictable and it's true what they say.

“Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it.” – Charles R. Swindoll.

I'm glad your day went well.

I see you're new on Hive, so let me drop you a few suggestions to help you navigate better on our platform.

I see you posted this on your blog. It's nothing wrong with it, but you have a better chance to get more readers by posting in a community. This post for example would fit in Daily Blog community.

Here's a guide I put together to help you learn about how communities work and why you should use them -> Communities Explained - Newbie Guide. I also put together a list of communities, which is not complete, there are much more communities on Hive, but it will help you get started.

Once you posted your post in the right community, you can then cross post it to OCD community. Here's a guide about cross posting.

Please don't delete any post with the purpose of reposting it in another community as that can be considered abuse.

Let me know if you need any help :)

Hello @erikah

Thank you very much for your feedback. I definitely can use some good advice as a newbie. Many thanks, I appreciate it a lot.

Have a lovely day!

Congratulations @onalazyday! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you 😊

You're welcome @onalazyday.

BTW, we need your help. May we ask you to support our proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248

Thank you.

Welcome to Hive. There are a fair few Hivers in London and there may be some meetups this year. Look out for those as they are a great way to learn more about this platform.

Have fun.

Hello @steevc

Thank you for the tip! Sounds good!

I'm glad the day ended well :) Dogs always make it better!

This post has been submitted to Dreemport

Thing will get done when they get done.. The world will just have to wait! 😁
City life is great.. isn't it? It's just something one gets used to after a while. At least you have the adorable cuties to go home too. After all they don't worry about traffic, delays, work, bills, etc. They simply wait as well.. not for trains or busses but for you to arrive back home to them safe and sound 😊🤗😁

Hmmmm... found this too late to vote for you to earn still.

This is a really solid post! And well formatted! Nice work, dude.

See you're quiet around here... I'd be really interested to read more about your travels and life when you return. 👍