Visiting a hidden London cocktail bar (Discount Suit Company)

in #london5 years ago

"Uhh... I don't think we're in the right spot," my girlfriend says as we step out of an Uber, onto a dark, seemingly abandoned street.

"Hmm, I'm pretty sure the address is right," I tell her.

A street cleaner drives past, kicking up the Wentworth Street dust and garbage. The setting is eerie, and my girlfriend looks concerned as a cool December wind begins to pick up.

I turn my gaze toward Bell Lane and notice the sign for our destination: Discount Suit Company.

image1 (4).jpeg

We walk toward the sign, discover a set of stairs leading down to a basement, and enter a chic cocktail bar, crowded with 20- and 30-somethings. Thankfully, I had made a reservation, so we have no problem claiming a table in the crowded speakeasy. In a matter of minutes, my girlfriend's emotions have transitioned from serious concern to excitement.

For our first round of drinks, she opts for the Frenchman (Cognac, Yellow Chartreuse, Quinquina Aperitif, Maraschino & Bogart’s Bitters) and I choose the Skipper (Aged Rum, Sweet Vermouth & White Port). Both drinks are delightful. We sit back, enjoy each other's company and take in Discount Suit Company's unique ambience.

image1 (5).jpeg

Based on our reactions to the first drinks, our bartender makes a recommendation on the second round, and we enjoy those cocktails just as much.

We leave Discount Suit Company around 10 p.m., and a friendly couple who have been standing for quite some time are quick to claim our table. The decision to make a reservation in advance was well worth it.

Overall our experience at this London speakeasy was very positive.

Looks can be deceiving. It doesn't appear as though much happens at the corner of Wentworth Street and Bell Lane in the evening hours. But artisan cocktails and a trendy vibe are only a few steps away.

Sort:  

Thanks for the review @wadepaterson! Didn't know about this place and we've lived in London and Sam will again soon. Need to check it out on a date we do 😊 Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Do it! Let me know your thoughts :)

Thanks for reading.