M42 - Orion Nebula

in #longexposurephotography6 years ago (edited)

This is M42, also called the Orion Nebula. I took this shot in February this year.

Equipment:

  • Canon EOS 450D
  • Pentax Takumar 200mm f4 Lens
  • Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer
  • Intervalometer for imaging

Acquisition:

  • Lights: 21x215s @f5.6 ISO800
  • Darks: 20
  • Bias: 40

Processing:

Stacking was done in DeepSkyStacker. Then the image was edited in Photoshop and Lightroom. In PS is used the Astronomy Tools Action Set, very useful tools.

Take a a look at my post on general Astrophotography if you feel interested!

Sort:  

This deserves more attention. Unfortunately, I'm willing to bet that many people are unimpressed simply because they just don't realize the kind of effort that goes into taking a pic like this. I mean, even just taking a pic of the MOON is difficult. If people fully understood how hard it is to get pics like that nebula, I feel this post would have way more than just 3 upvotes.
Just wait until the next lunar eclipse when people start posting cell phone photos of it. Funny if you ask me.

Well done.

By the way, feel free to use the #wwtop5pix tag to increase visibility with me. I'm always on the hunt for top-shelf photography around here. Plus I want to pay under-rewarded photographers like yourself, @daveiano.

That's music to my ears. Thank you very much. Yeah it's a lot of work to take and proccess such a picture. The photographing part alone with aligning the Equipment and all that stuff took about four hours.

I will try your tag, again, thank you very much!