Our Angel Baby


When I left for my first deployment, my wife was pregnant with our second child. After a few months of being there, she started having complications and lost the baby. This was a very hard time for both of us, and I was not able to come home and be with her during any of it. We both had to grieve the loss of this child on opposite sides of the world from each other.

We think about this baby often and wonder what our lives would be like had the child made it into our arms. Once I started getting into photography a few years ago, I was excited that I was going to be able to express my thoughts by using the camera. I created this image by "painting with light." I wanted to make an image to show that even though parents are grieving the loss of a child, their child is now an Angel and will always be with them and looking down on them.


wwest160806_2606.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen


Categorylongexposurephotography
SettingsISO 100 18 mm f/6.3 10 sec
CameraCanon Rebel T5
LensCanon 18-55mm
LocationSaratoga Springs, Utah

This is my entry in the #longexposurephotography contest hosted by @juliank and @photocontests.

Follow me @derangedvisions for more photography and travel stories. Thank you for checking out my blog.

Sort:  

At first, just reading your story tore my heart. My husband and I had a miscarriage earlier this year and I can't imagine what it would've been like if he'd been away. It was hard enough when he was gone for two weeks and I was alone with the twins we'd just adopted. And then I looked closely at your picture ... I love the meaning behind it ... we're also comforted knowing that our baby is in Heaven and someday we'll meet again. Warm thoughts to you and your wife.

Your comment is the reason I decided to share this moment in our lives. Thank you for the kind words.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 00:42:55
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 617.70/800.00
Total Photos: 30
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 9
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Interesting idea for #longexposurephotography :-)

You got a 1.27% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @bethalea!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @ipromote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-03-05-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

thank you. I really appreciate the support from you and the Steemit community as a whole.