Moonrise Long Exposure in San Francisco

in #longexposurephotography6 years ago (edited)

DSC_5047stackFinal.jpg

An image stack of the frames I used for my last post, a moonrise time lapse. Photos taken on my Nikon D7000.

Interesting Tidbit #1

To get star trails with the moon in the frame, you have to take a bunch of "shorter" long exposure images. Otherwise the moon washes out the photo. These frames were all 6 seconds long, whereas I usually use 30 seconds for star trails.

Interesting Tidbit #2

Incidentally, stacking and aligning 210 images in Photoshop takes up a lot of computing juices. (Alignment shouldn't have been necessary, but apparently my tripod settled slightly during the shots and I wasn't happy with the fuzzy details.) I had to break it up into groups of 50-ish images to not bog down my laptop.

Interesting Tidbit #3

I believe those boat trails going in front of Angel Island (on the left) are the ferry I missed because I was taking these photos. You're welcome.

Thanks for dropping by!


Get upvotes and followers on SteemEngine:
My referral link / https://steemengine.net/join?r=845


Recent Posts

Sort:  

Great shot!! Definitely sharper that the gif timelapse ;)

Thanks! Yeah, I didn't want to upload a full resolution video...

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 16:54:19
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 369.27/400.00
Total Photos: 25
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank