An Open Letter to my Ex

in #love7 years ago


Dear Mr. Ex,

I would be lying if I say I don’t think of you at all. I would be lying again if I say I think of you everyday. How can I not? You have been a piece of me at one phase of my life. You have been the only one that I loved and cared about at one point of my life. It would be ridiculous to say I don’t miss you at all.

Because I do, and I can’t ignore the fact that our separation had hurt me within. Because these are all universal truth. It does happen. And being a human being that I am yes it hurt me as well when we broke up. But I do not mean to come back to you or any of that sort by any means.

I am writing this letter to let you know what I am going through now in the present at times. And I am not apologetic about the fact that I miss you. As I already said you had been the reason of my actions at one point of my life where I learned, grew, loved, hated, cried and moved on. No one can take that part of you away from me and not even me even if I want to. So, the only reasonable thing for me is to confront the feelings inside and share it with you.

I will not be offended and it is a big okay for me if you do not share the same feelings as I do because we are human beings and we are meant to be different. I can’t expect you to have similar kind of feelings that I have just because I wish you would have had. I by no means mean any harm in your current relationship and I would never want to be one of the third person in any one’s life. Nothing can be worse than that.

I am very happy and content with my life today. I have a loving husband and would not want anything more than a person who loves me like he does. And I donot say it because I want to show off. I say it because I donot want you to be insecure about me coming back to you. Trust me, I have had enough when we broke up and I believe everything happens for a reason. And I am equally guilty for what happened between us. And now I realize it was for good what happened that happened.

Without any trouble meant, I just want to confront to you that yes, I miss you sometimes. I do go back to those memories lane and smile at the times when we had fun together. I go to that time when we were falling in love and how happy we were. Having said that I equally remember those fights and tensions we had in between. Everybody does, don’t they? I don’t know if it is immoral for me to remember that but it is a part of my cerebral or wherever memories are stored. I just cant delete you out of my system. It does not work like that, does it?

So, I am happy I have those memories to look back to and smile sometimes and learn from the mistakes that I made. I am happy for your short span of presence in my life and thank you for gracing my life at that phase where I needed love and compassion. I am grateful that you were a part of my life and taught me things I could have never learned myself.
I hope you are doing well with your life or even better. I hope you have a great relationship wherever you are and may god be with you.

All the best for your future!
Yours Truly,
Ex