Without any fear, without any doubt.

in #love5 years ago (edited)

Come. Rest here, with me, in me. 

Dito ka lang, humimbing sa aking piling.

“I’m surprised you haven’t written about him.”, my friend (@debilog) said.

It was a question I didn’t expect. But as I keep thinking about it, I begin to realize that she was right.

Why? Why haven’t I written about him? 

Is it because I have no time to write? No. I write as often as I live and breathe.
Have I become unmotivated or uninspired? Well, not really. I mean, if you’ve seen him… :) 

So, why?

---

Kung ayaw may dahilan, kung gusto palaging merong paraan


Kung ayaw may dahilan, kung gusto palaging merong paraan.

This is a popular Filipino saying that means, “If you don’t want it, you’ll always find reasons not to do it. But if you really want it, you will find ways to do it.”, when loosely translated to English. 

This is also one of the most-recognized lines in a famous Filipino rockstar’s song.

So, after being reminded of this line, right then and there, I have been slapped with the truth.

I finally realized why I kept refusing to write about him, and this, whatever this is.

I haven’t written about him, not because I have no time or because I am uninspired.
I haven’t been writing about him because, if I started writing about him, whatever I am feeling, whatever this is, would start becoming real.

Time and words are two of the things that I value the most in this world. I don’t give time to just anyone and I don’t write for just anybody. Quality time and words are two of my love languages. I show my love and appreciation to a person through time and words. In the same way, I feel loved when people make time for me, and when words, whether written or spoken, are carefully weaved just for me. 

Anything real (friendship, love, knowledge, etc) is worth it. And if anything is worth it for me, I will not hesitate to allot time and conjure words, basically, offer two of the most valuable currencies I could give, if need be.

But, lately, I find myself being afraid when things start to get real. 

Because to progress to something real requires taking risks and allowing yourself to be vulnerable. And in my experience, taking a risk and being vulnerable have done more harm than good.

I refuse to subject myself to these kinds of complications again. So, nope, count me out.

But, then, I met him. And all of a sudden, I am feeling a bit more brave.

And, well, would you look at that? Here I am, writing. about. him.

---

Face the future, without any fear, without any doubt

Sasalubungin natin ang kinabukasan nang walang takot at walang pangamba.
(We will face the future, without any fear, without any doubt.)

I’ve always struggled with the unknown and the uncertain. But lately, I find myself improving when it comes to stepping out of my comfort zone. 

Show up. Show off. Show out. Move with/in a different spirit. Recalibrate. Just do it. These are just some of my every-day mantras this year.

Maybe these worked.

Because, I ended my latest post here on Steemit with these words: And when it's a new season, you get to sing a new song. 

And, you know what? Maybe it IS time to sing a new song.
 


Sort:  

Congratulations @charlocked! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!