Shooting Stars - Love like the kind you see in movies.

in #love7 years ago

Have you ever heard a couple telling a story so ridiculously romantic that you feel they are making it up, or that they are creative enough to write the script for a new record breaking hollywood success? Well, I guess Danny and I are one of those couples. And fortunately enough we don’t need to make up stories...they simply happen to us and that is one of the reasons we stick together.

So, let me tell you this story and let me know if you believe it or not. I will try to keep the spices on the side and make it as real as it happened on that cold, clear skied night in Tepeji del Rio, México.

After weeks of many social commitments of being a new couple and having dinner with the parents, drinks with her friends, drinks with my friends, family reunions and fitting all this being in a long distance relationship (Danny lived in Mexico City and I lived in Playa del Carmen at the time) we finally had a night of total relaxation with no plans at Danny’s weekend getaway family house. By the way, this house has been in her father’s family for over 40 years and is located about 1 hour and 15 minutes out of Mexico City. But I am not going to go into telling you the family history or the history of the town. Tonight I will write only about LOVE.

We arrived in Tepeji in the early evening and had a really nice BBQ with Danny’s father, her sister Pau, Ricardo (Pau’s BF) and Danny’s dad. I off course tried to show of my skills of starting the grill and ended up cooking a pretty decent meal, even though it took me a very un-decent amount of time to actually get some fire started. We enjoyed a good conversation during dinner, had some wine and shared some stories. I have to admit I was especially happy because I finally had the chance to create some male bonding with Danny’s dad, which in Mexican culture is very important.

After dinner and some more chatting, Danny and I decided to lay in the middle of the yard and look at the stars. (Yes, this is where it starts to get a bit cheesy and romantic). Danny set up a very thick blanket on top of the grass and had an additional blanket to protect us from the cold. Mind you that I have been living in the caribbean for close to 6 years, so 10C is pretty cold for me. I never wear socks, sweaters or coats and at this temperature...I was wearing all three.

Diego&Danny.jpg

Danny laid on my shoulder and at that point we were finally where we had been wanting to be for days. A chill-out moment where we could enjoy each other’s company and talk about our wild dreams and the ordinary things we enjoy in everyday life. I began telling Danny what my feelings were. I said something along the lines of

“Danny, It has been a really long time since I thank God for simple things in life, and I want to thank God for this very moment. I have everything that I want and I have the most beautiful woman laying on my shoulder. There is nothing that can make this exact moment better than it already is”.

You need to know that I am not very religious, but God is a good name to give to the Universe if you are saying thank you.

Anyway, she replied something that I will never forget and said,

“I feel exactly the same way, everything I have in this moment is exactly the way it should be and I feel the universe has been conspiring for us to be together now and for always.”

At this point, this was already the highlight of my five day visit. But then, just as we finished our conversation, we gave each other a small kiss, took a deep breath and looked at the sky exactly at the same time as a beautiful shooting star passed right above us, as if the universe was telling us that the conversation we just had was exactly right.

At that moment our excitement was through the roof so we laughed in disbelief, we smiled looking into each other's eyes and we kissed each other softly, just to seal the envelope on another on of our many love stories.