Controversial L. O. V. E. : # 1 Is Your Profile Appealing to the Crowd?

in #love4 years ago (edited)

One of the topics women are interested in is LOVE. I beg your pardon? Well, as you read this blog, May there be an honest self-evaluation, or should I say, check one's perspective about it.

87299593_10206933596615821_5425230889615360000_o.jpg

Hmmm...you will find my personal reflections on the topic discussed, so you might agree or not about it. Feel free to leave your comments and input for me to learn from you as well. So, let's get started.

I was surprised that online dating has always been there since I was young. In 1995, Match.Com launched as the first online dating site. Let me do my simple math. It started when I was 5 years old, it was when an innocent child whose only world was playing and coloring books. I wondered if she heard this kind of dating talked out by the adults around her. (haha) Another surprising fact is that no matter how busy a busy person could be the longing for romance is always a portion of someone's schedule. No doubt online dating has become trending.

Now, let's get to the heart of the meeting. There were questions asked as we imagined ourselves creating our "PROFILE" getting ready for online dating. ^^ This first question was asked, and I would like to ask you too.

What photo do you want as your profile picture? Answers were varied of course. So, it was my turn to answer. Mine was, "A photo of me on a trip." That was just the first thought that entered my mind. Next, what is your tagline? In my mind what do you mean by that? After a minute or two, I responded, "Let's travel together!" The others have shown their creativity that made the profile making more interesting to be part of. We actually went on and on as we prepared ourselves to be NOTICED online. ^^

87504784_758422734565999_171812770742796288_n.jpg

Now, as we continue, I would like us to pause for a while and closely have a look at the person on the PROFILE PICTURE. May our confidence in what we think the person is, is not merely skin-deep. Let me ask. Do you understand who you are and what makes you YOU? What I mean by that is, what about your WORTH? This is a question that we can actually answer in so many ways. The moment that we nailed that answer is the only time we can truly embrace our significance and meaning. I don't know if you agree with me saying, "The validation of one's existence is greatly affected by answering this query truthfully."

We may answer it differently. It could be that we define ourselves by what we do. For example, "I am a lawyer, businessman, teacher..." Or if not, our sense of self could be based on how we define ourselves, just simply our own opinion of who we are which is often one's folly. Not to mention, we can also allow others to define us coupled with so much pressure to handle. These are all indistinct and cracked lenses that we keep putting on. I bet it is exhausting and destructive.

Creating a profile even if it is just in my mind while sharing it with the others lead me to have a deeper reflection of how much I know myself. My identity.

I am afraid I am seeing myself through the lenses that instead of clearing my vision to see myself as clear as crystal, they are in fact lenses that are so blurred, and the grade number is even lower or higher than the right lenses that I supposed to wear. The glasses might be fashionably looking - so tempting to put on, or the one that I just grabbed because it is what is displayed, and is just so good to be true. Or worst, lenses that I am accustomed to wearing which I just can’t let go. Now, you are getting into my head. (These were thoughts that I had while listening and reconciling the answers of a couple of women with me.

broken_glasses_by_kuroiasato_d1yfqgd-fullview.jpg
Creadited to DeviantArt Broken glasses by KuroiAsato on DeviantArt

Believe me, I paused and waited for a hopeful statement to be spoken for me to be out of my head. "If all the sources we found our identity is shaky foundations, then could there be a way out before all the investment will all be put to trash?" I asked myself. Our leader with a gentle speech but with authority stated a verse that says, “The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listens to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.”
John 10:11

HE CALLS HIS OWN SHEEP BY NAME AND LEADS THEM OUT. ... am I listening and comprehending it correctly?

HE CALLS US BY NAME AND LEADS US OUT. Can I say something? For me, it means that our identity is received not achieved. It is rooted in God’s love for us. So when we succeed, we do not embrace pride when we know that we are sinners. When you fail, you won’t lose our identity because our salvation is not based on good works or performance. It is based on what Jesus Christ has done for you. Just so you know, “I (Jesus) am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.”

As for me, this is the only lens that I want, or should I say, this is the only lens that I need in order for me to see that person on that PROFILE PICTURE of who she really is. I would say that before it becomes appealing to the crowd, it has to be so appealing to you the You.

Thanks for reading!

There are two more necessary questions to be answered for #1, so I hope you'll read my next blog.^ __^

#1
#therealme
#thewho
#beyou
#blessed
#hopeful

>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Sort:  
 4 years ago  Reveal Comment