PAIN BEFORE LOVE- CHAPT3

in #love7 years ago

It was rush hour in New York. Traffic was snarled from one end of the civic centre to the other. Janet had worked overnight, heading to his house. Looking so tired and weary, she decided to divert to another direction. She headed to Sacramento to see her mother. She decided that she would spend a quality time with her mother so that she could pick up her daughter from school on her way going back. Every little sound seems to put her intoa panic.
Thinking all day long has become his daily routine. He believes that the more she thinks about the incident, the more she could perhaps figure out what happened on that day. She used a tip of her fingers to scratch her head. “Thinks aren’t falling into place,” she said. Already, Dr James has warned her about high recent HBP level. Is getting high every day, she has to slow down in her manner of too much thinking.
She entered the house. The roof was a little bit old, the paint looking washed and blur, like houses in 1990’s. Janet calls her mother severally, but no one answered. She went closer to the window and peeped through and saw her mother fast asleep on the bed. She called her name one more time. The old woman in her early 60’s stood up immediately hearing the sound of her daughter’s voice, although she was not sure if she was the one but she has for long wished to see her daughter. In her early 60’s she still looks pretty, tall, with a dark-haired with a little grey hair at her front hair. Janet’s mother, Pauline, never accepts the fact that she’s old. She sees herself as a very young woman, strong and passionate.
Pauline horribly open the door, at the sight of her daughter she felt relieved. She gave her a warm embrace. If nothing makes Janet happy, but at least the sight of her mother alone gives her joy and make her feel relieved. “Mummy it has been a long time. How are you doing?” Janet snapped. Pauline raised her eyebrow in response “oh...h my daughter I’m fine. I hope you are fine too?” Janet shrugged. “Yes mummy, I’m okay, at least seeing you, I feel more relieved.
Hope you are doing great in your farming business mummy? “I’m trying the best I can, just that time the work gets tougher, and I wish to have someone helping me. A couple of farmers had checked Pauline to offer her some help.
By the way have you heard from papa?” Pauline turned her back and walked straight to the fridge. “I cannot remember the last time we spoke. I have some juice and soda. In case you want my daughter” Janet stood up and took a glass of juice from the fridge. “Mum, don’t tell me you are still quarrelling with daddy?” Pauline shakes her head in disappointment, and gulped down a bottle of soda, she dropped it on the table. The hard sound of the bottle that came from the table made Janet to panic. Pauline noticed it Janet’s reaction. “Oh sorry, my daughter I don’t mean to scare you. I hope you are okay.You look depressed. What is the matter?”
Janet answers immediately. “Mummy I’m passing through a lot of challenges” “Gee, it’s kinda ugly isn’t it?” Pauline interrupted. “Mum, the cops found a dead man in my house” Pauline surprised.... “What? Dead man! Oh my God. This isn’t good my daughter. How did this happen?” Janet shakes her head then sat tirelessly on the sofa. “Mum, I went to a night party with my Gipson, my boyfriend and I can remember that I became a little bit tipsy yet I was conscious, he offered to drive me home, along the line I slept off then I woke up only for me to see that I slept with a dead man in pull blood. A total stranger” Pauline shrugs. “Oh my daughter, what are we going to do now? What did the cops say?” “Mummy I don’t know what they think. But I’m probably sure that they will come for me.” Pauline shakes her head, conveying the sign of pity. “What about Gipson? Have you confronted him over this incident?”
“I have tried calling his line, but he’s not picking my calls, most times the call doesn’t even go through. I went to his house to check on him, everywhere was locked, it doesn’t look like someone still leaves there”

Janet was in love with a total stranger. She was in love with a man who clearly had some problems with their relationship, who wouldn’t talk about them, who made fierce love to her while she sleeps, only to betray her before abandoning her.
Pauline in utter confusion and anger made a telephone call to her lawyer; she narrated the ordeal to her lawyer who made a promise to make sure that her daughter will be vindicated. “Mummy why are you calling?” she asked while going to the kitchen. “I just called my lawyer now. Do not worry daughter.Everything will be taken care of. Gipson will never go unpunished” she shouted. “Mummy please this is my problem, I don’t want to worry you neither do I want to put you in line. This is my cross; therefore, let me be the one to carry it. I don’t want you to get worried considering your health condition. I beg of you mummy.” She went close to her mum and gave her a warm embrace. Then bid her farewell.
Janet drove headed for New York City, to pick up her daughter. Is winter period, so people are hardly seen on the road side at that early hour. Only cars congested everywhere.

The wind howls, the roof top-sheet clatter and clang. People were seen on the street running to their cars, as the temperature was becoming so high. Some didn’t come out with their winter suit, on second thought; no one knew the winter will just come out that early hour unannounced.

Clara wore her winter coat while sitting on the pavement behind her class, as she waits for her mother. On the sight of her mother, she ran immediately and embraced her. “Mummy! Mummy! My teacher asks after you today” she uttered. Her depression was becoming uncontrollable that she even panicked by her daughter’s statement. It was as if she heard something else like the police are looking for her. She raised her eyebrows and said, “really, what did you tell her then?” Janet smiled then chuckled. “Nothing Mum, I said you are fine.” Janet smiled back at Clara “sure”.
“We will go shopping today,” she said and drove down to the main street, then to New York City. Janet saw her daughter sucking her thumb through the side mirror.
“One of my nieces was a thumb sucker. We have it capture for all time on videotape.” Clara didn’t believe in that. But she has to swallow it. Perhaps it could be a strategy to stop her from sucking her thumb. She is a smart kid, but she has the phobia for a video camera.
She drove down to the small town where she lives, as she arrives her premises she saw two police cars parked at his small front gate. Then she saw another police car coming behind her. “Mummy what’re the cops doing in our house” Janet ignored her; ina panic she took her phone and called her brother who lives a stone thrown from his house. As she alighted from her car, she held her daughter’s hand, as if someone was going to also take her away from her. She worked toward the front door and heard the dogs barking. “Quiet!” Janet snapped at the dogs. The two dogs quit barking and looked sheepish. Janet wore overalls and boots. She opened the door and gasped. Behind her comes a policeman, in his uniform, aimed a gun at Janet, ordering her to hands up. She panicked and did as was commanded by the policeman. Few other policemen came across, and they all followed her inside.

“Sorry, ma’am that I have to come this way unannounced. But you see, you are the only prime suspect here, considering the incident that happened on 27th of January. Discovering a dead body in your house is a severe case. Am afraid you have to follow us to our station to be interrogated.” The cop said. “I have done nothing! I’m not responsible for his death. I have already told you that I cannot remember what happened that night! It happened very fast, and that’s why am still confuse till date. As I have tried severally to figure out how that happened yet seems to be confusing. By the way, I was the one that called the cops.” She snapped in utter disdain. “Am sorry Ma’am but am following the rules. You have to come with me to the station, or you will be forced to do so and face another charge. Besides, we found your fingerprints on the dead body, but the good news is, we saw about two other fingerprints which we are yet to identify because isn’t clear enough” Janet’s brother arrived immediately as he received a call from his sister ordering him to come and pick up Clara. He looked at the cops, anxious and confused. “What are these cops doing in your house?” He snapped and gave the cops a bad look. The cops held Janet, and they work towards the doorway, then straight to the police car, he looked at the brother and said “I will explain later. Please take care of my daughter.”
“Clara!” she calls out at her daughter who’s already crying. “Mummy loves you. Be a good girl. I will see you soon my angel.” The police drove off to the station immediately.

READ CHAPT2 -https://steemit.com/steemit/@jenroy/pain-before-love-chpt-2

STAY TUNED FOR THE NEXT CHAPTERS.

Am still in college, looking for money to finish college and publish my books. Presently, I work in Icharities as part time works.KINDLY SUPPORT ME BY ;

UPVOTING

PAYPAL: paypal.me/jenrowlings

ETHERUEM: 0x1ea875295c1F1783a96faa97B13551077Db0db9b

DASH: Xp33njzBjivV9t2X3YV14jXx35LEwD991W

AUGUR: 0x1ea875295c1F1783a96faa97B13551077Db0db9b

LITECOIN: Lbw42MJtq58GWsvUMqXaDT6CfSKBQrGUBe

REMEMBER, YOUR SUPPORT WILL SAVE A LIFE, HELP ME FINISH MY STUDIES, PUBLISH AND PROMOTE MY BOOK.

Thanks and God bless!

FOLLOW @Jenroy

()

Sort:  

Congratulations @jenroy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!