Feeling Grateful for Kindness (Rants from the Road)

in #love6 years ago (edited)

This is another one of those posts that has no plan. Just gonna start typing with a basic idea in my head. I'm going to start doing this more often as it seems to work and I should have more consistent internet connectivity. To be honest, I have had good internet for a few days now and haven't really taken advantage of it, but I will get back in the groove.

ikeandfam.jpg
Photo by: Trey Roberts (who kindly offered to take our photo on Highway 1 and then emailed it to us after exposing it!)

This morning I am feeling thankful for all the treasures that I have. Recently I have been a bit concerned about our budget as we continue on our travels to and through the Northwest in @thedodgemahal. There have been quite a bit more expenses than I anticipated and I recently have found myself feeling a bit worried about money. No real reason to worry though, as we are putting in the work to increase our income and we will get there with our current plans and the new plans and opportunities that arise.

Fear and Desire

In the last couple years, we have been able to create a lifestyle that I didn't see coming at all just 2 short years before. As my focus has been and continues to be more in the spiritual realm, money has not been a major concern except for when it was so low that I wasn't sure where the rent and food money were going to come from. In the years prior to this era of my life, I was never truly destitute, but it felt close a few times.

Fear of becoming destitute has been enough to keep me from getting to that point, after having to rely on the kindness of others in the past and not wanting to have to be in that position again. I don't generally work much with fear, but I must admit that it is sometimes a more potent motivator than desire.

Kindness

We have taken the last few days to chill with our good friend and most inviting and courteous host - @nastdrummer. It is so nice to have all the comforts of home and really have the same relaxing feeling as being at home, when you have such a close friend that is so cool and chill.

This morning as I have been reflecting on these topics I noticed an apt tweet from the Dali Lama:

Screen Shot 2018-07-02 at 10.46.36 AM.png

While many people consider sensory experience as the main source of happiness, really it is peace of mind. What destroys peace of mind is anger, hatred, anxiety and fear. Kindness counters this—and through appropriate education we can learn to tackle such emotions.

I love following this account on twitter, it is one of only 2 or 3 accounts that isn't all about crypto that I follow. This quote caught my attention though as I am chasing sensory experience. I am aware of creating peace in my outter life by creating peace in my inner life, but it was such a nice reminder to do this with kindness.

I have often thought of the immense power that actually exists within kindness. I have taken time to ponder the profound changes that have occurred in my experience because of the kindness of others. Over and over again in my life, I have committed and recommitted myself to being kind and generous to others. Many, many times I have not succeeded in my goal, but when I have, I have received more than ever felt like I gave. It is what gave me a feeling of confidence about what I had done and what I could do.

As I often bring up, and alluded to in my last Rant from the Road when talking about spreading good vibes, being good to each other is what brings happiness. On our adventure across the country we have already benefited so much from the kindness of strangers and the warm fuzzies that come from that are an incredible experience every time.

A short list that makes my heart swell

The Love we have in our lives and for each other
The Love and support from our friends and family
The freedom we have to go on our journey and help spread more good vibes
The fresh air, fruits, and beautiful scenery we have found on our journey
Just to be alive and breathing and moving around on this planet

All of this is also a reminder to focus on things that are helping people. One of the ways, I was able to justify this adventure in @thedodgemahal was that I truly want to show people that they can do whatever they want to do. We all have the ability to create more happiness and freedom for each other through working with kindness. Thank you for reading!

Don't forget to follow @lindseylambz and our travels @thedodgemahal!

Sort:  

I've often wanted to let go of expectation and live like the birds. One day... 😀

Hi I also love dog.

😂😂😂 me too!

Great to know that you give more importance towards the spirituality and in my opinion it's great too because the real piece also comes from the deep spiritual essence and also when we stay spiritually strong then we can face any issue with more effectivity.

And i hope and wish that whatever you have planned that will be successfully attained and nothing will be stopped. So keep up and continue your great work and hopefully everything will be fall at right place at right time.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Beautiful family of five..

glad to know you all are still 'truckn'
sending nom noms and good vibes to you all :)
b.a.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment