LSCOTTPHOTOS Daily Photo Initiative #16 (Original Photo)

in #lscottphotos8 years ago (edited)

Day 16 of 365

This little fellow sat preening himself in our backyard for a long while before my mother expressed her concern. She walked around the bird but he seemed unfazed by her proximity. When she told me, I couldn't help myself. I grabbed my camera and took a couple of shots after walking closer than I had to any wild bird before (without it throwing a royal fit). 

Then I saw him holding a wing out strangely and stretching it in the sun before slowly closing his eyes and falling still. Now, I hoped he was simply resting but I wanted to make sure. The angle of that wing made me nervous. 

So I donned a pair of gardening gloves and slowly picked him up. He was, of course, fairly perturbed so I quickly checked both of his wings with the gentlest of touches. Both pulled out fine, no broken bones or wounds that I could find. I let him go and watched him flap a few paces away before settling back down for another nap apparently. 

I think he is just young and unsure how to fly quite yet. I'm quite relieved.

Normally, I wouldn't interfere but since my post about "Letting Nature takes its Course," I couldn't get the baby bird that died out of my head. So I had to check this little fellow out and make sure he was okay.

Now I get to watch him (from a distance this time) flap happily away!

Upvote if you liked the closeup!

Follow me for more daily photography :)

Lscottphotos

Sort:  

Good to read that this story has a better ending.

I thought so too :)

Interesting fact: From the point of view of ornithologists, dinosaurs never went extinct. We call them birds now :)

Haha I love fun facts :) Thanks!