I Draw Crash Bandicoot: Process - Learn to Draw With Friends

in #ltdwf7 years ago

 For this drawing I wanted to try working with color pencils and experiment with some techniques to see what I could come up with.

Materials

  • Graphite Pencil and Eraser
  • Assorted Color Pencils
  • Tape
  • Onion Skin Transparent Drawing Paper


  • The Steps


     I began by drawing a series of circles to represent Crash's joints and features and connected them with lines to create a simple skeleton to draw over.


     Then I did some line work to rough out the image.



     With the basic line work done I covered the drawing with a second piece of thin "onion skin" paper and taped it in place. The reason I did this was to keep the pencil lead graphite from smearing together with the color pencils I plan to use next.


     Then I filled in the color sections lightly on the new piece of transparent paper with my color pencils.


    I'm using a 24 piece set of artist quality Prismacolor Primier colored pencils.


     With the colored pencils now defining the image I removed the paper with the original pencil line work.

     Whoops, looks like we don't have any gray pencil in our 24 piece set for the gray on Crash's shoes. We'll just use light purple for now...



     ...and mix yellow over top of the purple (it's complimentary color) to create a more neutral tone.



     Finally I picked up my black colored pencil and shaded in some final parts like his eyebrows, hair, and some small shadows here and there.


    That's it! Thanks for taking a look and I hope you enjoyed the process. This drawing and process post was done for the Learn To Draw With Friends contest by @tonyr #ltdwf


    @ckurtish
    Sort:  

    I'd just like to say a big thank you to everyone who viewed, commented and showed their appreciation, it really does mean a lot to me. Thank you

    Took an hour out of my beach vacationing morning to draw a CrashBandicoot meme for all to see.

    Cool Crash man!

    First of all that drawing is so good. And second, by reading your post I learned so much about ways to step through drawing something! I love the tracing paper technique and also the complementary coloring you did on the shoes! So neat and what a great result you have!! Thanks @ckurtish!

    Thank you so much, I tried to be as concise as I could on this post. I like using the color pencils on onion skin because you can press as hard as you like without pitting the paper.
    The complimentary color trick was born out of necessity :D

    This is the story of my childhood game console :D

    That looks good! I love how you explained the process.

    I think people can learn a lot from how you handled it. Thank you :)

    w o a h ... W O A H.. woah woah woah

    This is awesome! My girlfriend has got those same colored pencils. Haha, the case is definitely familiar. I love to see art like this, it always peaks my interests.

    Upvoted you!

    This was one of my favorite characters back in the day.

    Great post , thanks for sharing

    WOW AMAZING!!!! Followed

    Good desain drawing @ckurtish

    Looks really good...sooo nice.😍

    Check out my drawings at my blog too please.
    Please have a look at

    https://steemit.com/@asmartian/famous-personality-3-a-sketch

    Wow!! amazing drawing.. maybe I should take part in #ltdwf too... But I don't follow the usual style of drawing, I draw with (ballpoint) pen from the start, I don't do inking because it's ink in the first place and I rarely color.... is it okay to take part with that style?

    anyway~ Here's the only few drawings be me that are on steemit to see my style.

    Sorry for the late reply, so far the #ltdwf challenges have required that they be pencil drawings. That said there are other art contests happening in #contest that your style my be suited for. Good luck!

    Thanks will check them out!!

    Thanks for sharing your process. I like how you sketched it at first showing the joints. Your perspective is awesome! You rocked it. Well done!

    it almost looks 3d

    Sweet man, such cute drawings!

    very nice work, nice having a great teacher like you...
    giphy.gif

    I loved your drawing, it's very cute.

    nice drawing n thanks for sharing the technique,,,