My Lucid Dreaming Journey | Pt. 3 - Implications & Test Flight

in #lucid-dreaming6 years ago (edited)

Continuing my story of how discovering lucid dreaming changed my life forever and what it was like to fly. Read up on part 2 here

flydude.jpg

I was stunned at what I found and how the experiences changed my assumptions about life completely. Especially because I had never heard about lucid dreaming in all my years in school. "If this is possible you would think it would be common knowledge." I had to laugh at the idea instantly, because I had already seen through so many lies of the system that this was just another step towards building my own paradigms from now on - as nobody else seemed to have any idea what is going on.

We sleep a good third of our lives, everyone of us... and yet, this whole endeavour was carefully swepped under the rug by someone. I figured if I can reliably test this and start working with it repeatedly then it would have to be accepted as part of "regular science" in my book, but as I later found out lucid dreaming is somewhat of a thorn in mainstream science's side because it rattles so many of the core notions present in the current Western worldview. It opens up countless questions about the nature of the mind, about who we are, what our bodies are, what reality is, how great the effect of the mind is on our physical well-being, and many other things materialistic science had never successfully answered in my opinion. Or even tried to.

Lucid dreaming quickly became my gateway for being unsatisfied with the common explanations of our universe and existence, simply because I felt these experiences could not be reduced to mere electro-chemical impulses in the brain by people who deny the very existence of lucid dreaming.

I had tried it and found: It is real - whatever it is. And so I was no longer interested in listening to those who were making claims without ever having tried it for themselves.

I think the largest part of the materialistic atheist died in me those weeks, and I really wasn't sad about it. I just told myself: "Seems like I have to start over and figure out what it all means. Oh well, just being able to get lucid now is TOTALLY worth creating my new operating paradigm from scratch. If this is real - and I just found out that it is - what else is possible?"

And I was right, this world continues to baffle me the more I look into things allegedly impossible <3

Wilfried's hint about lucid dreaming has changed my life forever. Thank you Wilfried <3 <3 <3

dude2.jpg


Actor and director


The beauty of the lucid dreaming experience lies in becoming both the actor and the director of your own movie while it runs. You can simultaneously decide anything about your environment, make things appear and disappear, change any and every little detail of your surroundings or even mess with the laws of physics just like you want to. At the same time you get to be the experiencer of the world you are creating on the spot.

For a lack of a better description: You are essentially god.

Omnipotent, omnipresent and with utter control about any aspect in the dream world.

colors.jpg


The test flight


I still remember my first lucid dream because it was so freakin' mindblowing, ahahaha. I had set myself the simple aim of "I want to fly". Easy, straight, memorable. I dug the idea and I felt there was not much to remember about it other than the image of me flying like superman - this would be a GREAT test case!

And it was, I can totally recommend you start with something like that for your first lucid endeavour. Getting into Britney's pants could be a little more difficult at first than just "fly to that cloud now!"^^

In the dream I found myself on a city square of my hometown, but there was noone there but me, which seemed "kind of odd". I had prepared my "dream checks" with the watch that I was wearing, but somehow I realized I am dreaming without any prop involved this time. I guess the square being empty and my being there was weird enough to make me notice, after all: this city square was in a different part of my hometown and I never ever went there, except for the few times when I was growing up.

I guess my strong focus on becoming lucid in these weeks was what helped me realize it in that moment.

And I was thrilled! "Breathe, calm, don't hype yourself, easy!" And I knew I had to act quickly regardless, it was just so freakin' exciting knowing I could do anything I wanted now.

So I stood there looking down at my legs and just said: "HOVER" - and I hovered. It was so freakin mindblowing, there I was hovering like Master Yoda with the sheer force of intent. I realized the word wasn't even necessary at all - just like you can open your hand without verbally commanding it to. You just... DO IT.

However, I was so stunned at how easy I could hover I kept on using language to command my body what to do - kind of like riding a bike for the first time without training wheels commanding it to "go straight please" while still learning the controls and feel of it.

I looked up to the sky.

"Now.... THAT WAY!"

And I freakin BLASTED OFF!

hand.jpg

I will never forget it, it was so, so, so intense. Like going 200 miles per hour from one instant to the next without any problem or discomfort. I BLAZED through the sky and found myself "stopping" near a cloud mere seconds later. I was hovering here now and for a moment a thought was trying to creep up on me: What if I fall? I instantly laughed because I realized profoundly that in this state nothing could hurt me and nothing could override my will. If so: How then did I make it up here in the first place? I laughed some more hanging out in mid air near a cloud being confronted with the utter improbability of the situation.

My heartbeat picked up at my inability to just keep cool and enjoy the view, it was all just too freakin' exciting. There was a tear or a shift, or something. And I found myself opening my eyes lying in bed. I fuckin' cheered! This was otherworldly and totally awesome! I was incapable of finding words to describe the experience, kinda like I feel now writing about it to you.

It changed everything.

All of the sudden I realized that huge chunks of life's pressures had been lifted off my shoulders, just like that. If I was never to become a successful rockstar, I knew I could at least play in front of 50k people for once in my dreams (and I did that some time later by the way, it was AWESOME!!)

If I was never to be able to go to New Zealand, I could at least visit it in the lucid state, and save myself the trouble of taking an airplane.

You realize that your imagination really is the only limit. Then I laughed at the idea of FLYING to new Zealand, when I could just teleport myself.

You kind of get the hang and inspiration of reconsidering all boundaries and obstacles in this marvellously encouraging way that nobody else can give you, only your own desire to learn about the lucid state and your effort to pursue it.

dude3.jpg

For the next week all I really wanted to do was sleep, I was soooo hooked. But my responsibilities kept me from doing so, so I did my best to continue my lucid pursuit regularly during the nights.

I don't quite remember much how I got on stage or what band I was playing with for my second lucid dream. All I remember was that I played the guitar MUCH BETTER than in waking life and that the experience of playing in front of such a large audience on a festival was exactly as awesome as I had always thought. It seemed to be a short dream, not being able to curb my excitement as we played through the first track, but even that small bit was somehow enough to completely satisfy my drive to devote my life to becoming a successful rock musician.

After all: I had grander things to discover here OBVIOUSLY, ahahahaha. This lucid dreaming thing would change everything, I knew it. If people were daring enough to cast their doubts aside and to try it for themselves despite the constant reduction of the experience by the majority of the materialistic scientific establishment... we would eventually build new paradigms with this discipline alone.

Not to mention all the exploration necessary to see how it all fits together with similar states of mind, induced in other ways.

lsd.jpg


Read up on the other parts of this series:
Pt. 1 - An Unlikely Proposition
Pt. 2 - Basic Techniques for Achieving Lucidity
Pt. 4 - A Novel Approach for Learning Skills
Pt. 5 - "That's Quite Far Enough"

Image sources:
unsplash.com
unsplash.com
unsplash.com
unsplash.com
unsplash.com
unsplash.com


Thanks for stopping by <3

Sort:  

I'm so excited to read your posts about lucid dreaming, it is exactly the next topic for my "mind-diving" posts! And thanks to @artisticscreech (he mentioned you in his post) I did not miss such a wonderful stories!
I enjoy reading your posts because I felt the same excitement when I started to practice lucid dreaming, thank you for sharing! :) Well, I continue reading next parts :)

Wow, thank you so much for your feedback and appreciation <3 Way to start the day for me here ;)

@paradigmprospect dream make u work more and hard ,if u want it