A bridge to sell...

in #luthier4 months ago

My brother and I decided to try to rethink our shredder model in a bolt on configuration. I like the idea a lot, I should confess, since I tend to favor bolt on construction to begin with.

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-17 at 7.31.31 PM.jpeg

There's a debate here to be had for what is better, bolt on, set neck, neck-thru, but for now, for the sake of expediency, let's move on keeping in mind that the area for the neck joint seems rather small.

No tongue

My brother's main concern with this new approach to the shredder guitar had to do mainly with joint area. It being a 24 fret model with a tongue deep into the first pickup cavity. This is the case for Gibson and PRS, and thus quite proven to work very well.

We could of course modify the body shape, but that would defeat the purpose of what we are trying to do, so the solution was hopefully simpler: Let's route the neck pocket deeper, make it a low rider.

And the bridge? Will it work?

Of course, it could... it should, granted we recess the bridge into the body to account for the difference in depth.

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-17 at 7.30.52 PM.jpeg

I seemed to be on a good track here, but there is one thing that truly messed up my happiness today, or I guess, I should say: It made me take a detour.

Its not the right bridge... it doesn't fit right.

So, I looked at my old parts and found an old wilkinson that has seen better days. It was scratched, but very much functional.

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-17 at 7.11.43 PM.jpeg

This black model had the right size, but it needed major revamping so that it worked for this build, and thus here I'am today doing some minor metal working.

Reshaping the blade, removing the paint and polishing the darn thing...

I think it's gonna work perfectly....

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-17 at 7.11.28 PM.jpeg

But it's going to add a ton of work to this guitar, and complicate my life quite a bit in the process. Doing the base plate and one saddle took five hours, but I'm going to call it a night. It's Sunday after all...

Sort:  

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!