The last five percent

in #luthier4 months ago

I'm either terrible at estimating the amount of work ahead of me, or this week was just crazy slow in progress. The truth is that I can't seem do to these last bits any faster.

I would be curious to talk to other luthiers about this very thing. It seems to me that if there's a time to slow way down and get somewhat ridiculous about details is right at the end of it. It's a practice of patience really. You almost just want to slap things together and get it done and over, but this is precisely where I've messed up in the past.

At any rate... It's Sunday, night time is here and I'm still at my shop, so I'm living "this truth" as the kids say these days.

MenO

Sort:  

"The devil is in the details" as they say. I also tend to believe that when something has taken so much time, I can have this spirit of perfectionism that takes over and continues to delay my projects. As some have said, often done is better than perfect.

Im getting better, but I've been one to abandon projects a lot... Something happens, its not perfect, so I quit it... that's another chapter of the same book I guess.

As with many things in life, balance is key.

You can have it fast, cheap, or good. Pick any two.

Thanks!

that the poster we all need

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@thehockeyfan-at(2/5) tipped @meno