Unusual materials: Centrolobium?

in #luthier2 months ago (edited)

Ok, maybe not that weird, but at least I'm going to call it, weird for the guitar world. This new fretboard material (not to say I can't use it in other places) will surely make a purist pucker.

I suspect tonally it will be similar to an indian rosewood, since it seems to have the same density, at least to me. It sands fantastic, and unlike rosewoods I still have some sandpaper left. (those who know, know).

Since I'm working on a guitar with a lemon-ish theme, if that makes any sense at all, I think this neck is not only fitting, but the only one that should exist.

46A13A20-E4AE-4380-9C8E-7976BE530FD9.JPG

This mockup makes my case for me, does it not?

MenO

Sort:  

The fretboard is indeed beautiful. Here we have a very dense, very white wood, Vine Maple (Acer circinatum), that I think would make good fretboards, but it is so white that it would require particular themes to apply.

Thanks!

cant say I ever saw Vine maple in florida... but it would awesome to try it. I'm going to look it up online.

I think it's a local species here in the PNW. It grows very slowly, an understory species.

Edit: https://www.dearplants.com/vine-maple-acer-circinatum/

That looks great. The grain really stands out and a hard fretboard ought to last well.