Feedback request: what should be the max amount of LUV that can be given daily?

in #luv3 years ago

Currently, anyone holding 5 LUV can command the LUVbot to give away up to 3 LUV per day on their behalf.

Note: the given LUV comes from the @LUVshares supply, not from the person "giving" person's wallet.

changes.gif

I'm considering changing these numbers. But, I'm interested in the community's thoughts because:

  1. Changing the giveaway ratio changes the economics and incentives by increasing the supply of LUV that's "out there."
  2. I'm hesitant to do this because I'm hard-wired to prefer a lower supply as opposed to a higher supply.
  3. I'm eager to do this because I'm stubborn and the goal of the LUV token is to spread love around Hive. Giving active users more opportunities to share LUV will help with this goal.

Lesson one in economics is this: everything is a trade-off. When you get one thing, you give up another. Or, when you give up one thing, you gain another. There are no wins and losses, only trade-offs.

So, I'm looking for your thoughts. If you have any ideas or input on changing the daily limit, or not, please let me (@crrdlx) know here in the comments. Or, if you wish to be anonymous, email me at [email protected]

Thanks :)


Check your wallet or trade LUV at: Hive-Engine or TribalDEX or LeoDEX.
Take a look at official LUVshares NFTs at https://nftshowroom.com/crrdlx/gallery (sales help keep LUVshares going).

LUV should be shared. Share the LUV.

Sort:  

I like the 5 and 3 in general. Some people maybe not because it sounds to easy to abuse especially when you have alt accounts. However you said before that you do not want to be profit the main focus of the Token so it fits.

I usually dont max out my daily 3 LUV, just because I think it should be somewhat special to give out love.

All that said I am still pledging for the addition of "when you have 100 LUV you can share 10" for die Kneipe :)

Thanks for your input, I value that because you're one who's active about giving LUV. I've been thinking on the 100/10 ratio. I do like that idea, but I'm afraid the distribubot script doesn't allow for that. There must be a way, but would likely require some serious coding to get it working and get it right. That's more than my skills allow unfortunately.

mhhh, I only had a Java Basics Course recently but I like numbers and solving problems. So if you maybe want to have me have a look at it? Ofc I can understand if you dont want to share the code, but I would be happy to help.

No problem, the code is open source so it's no secret. It's at https://github.com/hive-engine/distribubot The two main things to look at would be the config.json file and the script that makes things go is /distribubot/distribubot.py Take a look. I'm almost certain it would require adding another variable or two in the config file then altering the distriububot.py script accordingly.

Welp this is far more complicated than I thought :D. I never read Python before, but I can kind of get the syntax in general. However I really dont understand the code for the most part, some lines I could guess, but I dont think I will be a big help. That said I think I am beginning to understand.

                if balance > self.token_config[token]["min_token_in_wallet"]:
                    if self.token_config[token]["token_in_wallet_for_each_outgoing_token"] > 0:
                        max_token_to_give = int(balance / self.token_config[token]["token_in_wallet_for_each_outgoing_token"])
                    else:
                        max_token_to_give = self.token_config[token]["maximum_amount_per_comment"]
                else:
                    max_token_to_give = 0

In the middle of this thing you would need another if-clause with a second minimum amount, right?

I am a little confused by the variables "token_in_wallet_for_each_outgoing_token" and "maximum_amount_per_comment" and what you are doing with them since I thought the limit is just hard 3

You're in the right place. As the code is written, and with the settings in place, anyone with 5 LUV can give 3 per day. Doing what you're suggesting would create "levels" of givers. Level 1 would be the current situation - anyone with 5 LUV can give 3 per day. Level 2 would be, say anyone with 100 LUV could give, say 10, per day.

I'm just very hesitant to start fiddling with the code because (a) I have a limit on monthly data to use while messing with the code, (b) my "coding" skills are little more than hacking/mashing/banging on it 'til it works, which leads to, (c) it's working now, and I just don't want to futz it up.

Plus, you and a couple of others who responded to my question about increasing the per-day LUV limit all agreed: keep it as it is...it makes it more special.

Level 1 would be the current situation - anyone with 5 LUV can give 3 per day. Level 2 would be, say anyone with 100 LUV could give, say 10, per day.

yeah, thats exactly how I would want it to work. There would be some buying pressure for people to hold more than 100 LUV, but you already said you dont care too much about insentives and more about people being able to share LUV and I respect that.... How about 1000 LUV staked to share 10? :D

It's been some time since you suggested the levels, but they're here! Check @luvshares for the details. !LUV

LUV

Connect

Trade


@thatgermandude, you've been given LUV from @crrdlx.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)

3 LUV per day is perfect

  • 3x wondeful posts or
  • 1x exceptional heart-felt, tear-jerking, share with the wife stuff!!!!

Love the concept of this -smile-

I believe holding 5 LUV is too low, 1000 sounds about right. Trade or Earn it, either way gives more value and emotional meaning every time you use LUVbot :-)

Thanks, I appreciate your feedback. Yes, 5 is low. I made it low on purpose to set the entry-level barrier low. That doesn't mean the bar can't be raised as things mature. 1000 is too high I think (no one has that many LUV - see https://he.dtools.dev/richlist/LUV - and there are only 12000 currently in existence). I'm letting these ideas brew in my head a bit.

Hi @kiwibloke, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @crrdlx. Having at least 5 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV tokens in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

I wonder if something like time limited extra-luv days would get more out there. Like Extra-LUV-Sundays give 5 instead of 3. And have the command default to all 5 at once. That way we can onboard someone in one day instead of two.

Hi. I hear what you're saying about extra LUV days. That's a nice concept, but I think I'll hold off. Doing that would result in a couple of things. First, I'd have to change the configuration each week, then change it back the next day. I know myself and I that having two things to remember and two things to possible whack out would not go well! Secondly, that might get confusing for people. I like consistency. Plus, two days isn't too-too long to get someone going. I purposely set the 5 minimum at what I think is very low so it wouldn't be hard to get going.

Yeah, I don't think it's a very practical idea. But something similar might be worth considering if you feel like the tokens aren't being distributed quickly enough.

It's a long way off, but if you still feel like the number of distributed tokens is low next year. Maybe increase the limit for all of February and try to tie it into Valentines day. Task people with being cupids and spreading LUV. That might be a fun idea even if you don't increase the limit. Hmmm. That has me thinking about a competition for cupids to send 1 luv to as many different people as possible, then a 4 luv airdrop for everyone who has only 1 luv in their wallet on Valentines day? Probably too complex an operation.

Basically what I'm suggesting is a temporary increase, instead of a permanent increase. If you decide an increase is needed.

!LUV

Hi @fronttowardenemy, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @crrdlx. Having at least 5 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV tokens in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

I think 3 LUV is a good number (for nowtm ).

By increasing the number of distributable LUVs per day, you will decrease both the scarcity and therefore the value of your token but also the emotional value tied to the gift.

That being said, I also share your opinion that love is limitless and made to be shared with as many people as possible.

Hehe, is this the kind of helpful answer you were waiting for? 😀

Yes, exactly the kind of info I was looking for, thank you! Similar to what you mention about "emotional value," someone else commented that it should be "special." Good point. I didn't get a huge response, but what I did hear was "keep it the same." Understood. And thanks for all you do for Hive arcange. :)

Hi @arcange, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @crrdlx. Having at least 5 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV tokens in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Pues la verdad hace poco uso el bot LUV pero yo digo que esta bien como esta ,

De acuerdo, ese es el tipo de información que estoy buscando. Gracias.

Congratulations @luvshares! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.
You made more than 3000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!