Canon 70D repaired motherboard replaced

in #maarketfriday4 years ago (edited)

Just got my Canon 70D repaired. It had a faulty motherboard amongst a couple of other minor issues and it is now working perfectly again.

You may wonder why I spent £300 getting it repaired when there are so many cheaper cameras out there right now. All I can tell you is that the Canon 70D is the best camera I have ever owned. It does exactly what I need and it is as tough as old boots.
I do have several cameras but none of them can do what the Canon 70D can. It is just epic.

I made this video because there are so many videos telling us how to fix this 'camera not turning on issue'.
The motherboard problem is a known issue and these cameras and although they are tough on the outside they are rather delicate on the inside so poking around with anything inside is not a good idea.

I'll let you know my thoughts on the Enegon batteries after I've used them for a while.

Posted from my YouTube channel. Remember to subscribe.

Sort:  

That is a bit of a sum to get your camera fixed, but, I agree with you. When you have established a relationship with your camera and you pretty much understand each other, it can be worth it to give it a new life. I have one of the Canons that I love and did most of my flower photography with it. I have upgraded, but, flowers just aren't the same. And although I could go back and use it, the kit lens is not nearly as good as the one I have now.

It is like giving a child up for adoption. Ugh!!

I am glad you were able to fix it and have it at your disposal! Hello!!! Those batteries still work even though they are date 2014? That is awesome! I am impressed that the man did not try to upsell you to the 90D !! Thanks for taking us along!

By the way, you were hard to find. You spelled #MarketFriday wrong. :) I don't know what it is like for you in the UK, but, I certainly hope that better times are coming for all of us. I keep telling myself that I am happy and healthy and that is good enough for me right now. Thank you for providing an opportunity for me! Each week, I post for the challenge to provide a different look of American culture, some of it over the top and some, everyday things. It shows off how much we are alike and how different life can be. In the end, it makes it an experience that I look forward to. I appreciate the love and support you give to #MarketFriday! It Is heartwarming to see how many posts into the challenge, including yours. Thank you! Truly! Your participation adds a unique flavor to the mix. I just love clicking on the link and having a new world open up, right before my very eyes! Thank you again for being a part of all this! I hope you have a lovely week!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

Hi Denise, and thank you for finding this post. Great sleuthing 😂👍
That's the second time the #marketfriday tag was misspelled.

I'll have flush my cache out?

The camera is as fit as a fiddle again and back in use again.

I'm not sentimental about tech but that Canon 70d is just epic.
It does everything well and was worth getting repaired.

I like the idea that when I'm taking photos or filming it's not going to ring or ping a notification.

I filmed this video on my phone and kept getting notifications until I turned them off. 😂👍

Don't know if this is working but here goes
!tip .20

🎁 Hi @dswigle! You have received 0.2 HBD tip from @molometer!

@molometer wrote lately about: Camera Not Working Canon Eos 70D Feel free to follow @molometer if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

That does sound a lot of money, but I appreciate these cameras are not cheap and finding the right one for you is not simple. Good to hear you were able to fix it. So much tech is just disposable now.

Yeah it may seem expensive but it is a brilliant camera and I've figured out how to use it. Finally 😂
Owen the shop owner said he still gets a lot of demand for this model even though it has been discontinued.
There is a healthy used market for the Canon 70d.
The Canon 90d is the latest iteration.
How you doing with the lockdown and all that?

Sometimes newer does not mean better.

I'm good. Trying to keep occupied until there is more work for me.

Sometimes newer does not mean better.

To true. If something works why bother changing it?
Good to hear you are doing ok.
This time will pass....eventually!
😨😷👍😂

🎁 Hi @molometer! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I have picked your post for my daily hive voting initiative, Keep it up and Hive On!!