Bugs in my garden #5 -- Hairy legged assassin beetle + more

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

🐛 BUGS IN MY GARDEN 🐞

Here are some photos of bugs that hang out in my garden. I took these photos over the last couple of days. I have posted photos of some of these insects before, some I haven't.

The first bug here is called The Australian leaf roller. This fly lays eggs on its host and its larvae make a meal out of it. Species of the fly have been released in New Zealand to combat various agricultural pests like the potato moth.

1.png

I like this shot. A spider hunting on a daisy. It might be waiting for a bee. I'd like to see it try but it spotted me and legged it.

2.png

WHAT THE BUG! I have never spotted one of these before! Look how alien this bug looks! It's head looks a bit like a lobsters and it has hairier legs than mine! Hence the name Hairy legged assassin beetle or feather legged assassin beetle. This bug secretes a liquid that attracts ants, then it eats them. What a cool find!

3.png

4.png

At a glance you would think this is a praying mantis. I don't blame you. I thought it was to but in fact, this bug is a mantis fly. Its not actually a fly, its a lacewing. The larvae hatch and then seek out spiders egg sacs and munch on the eggs. Sometimes they will attach themselves to a spider and sneak into the egg sac as the female spider makes it. Cunning!

5.png

6.png

There is a tiny little bug hiding inside this flower. Hi bug. Tag you're it!

7.png

Here we have a couple of photos of my favourite spider, the saint Andrews cross spider!

8.png

I thought these spiders had packed up camp and disappeared for the year. Maybe they were just sheltering from the weather. I spotted three in the garden on the same day! I could only snap some shots of two of them. The other one was up in a tree which I couldn't reach.

9.png

A common green bottle fly. I've shot plenty of pics of these guys, I have even posted a couple. I just liked this photo. Do you?

10.png

Almost a christmas beetle! Christmas beetles are yellower and have a metallic green/purple shine, depending on the angle of light. This bug is called the "cowboy beetle". Cowboy beetles grow to about 2.5cm which is about the same size as a xmas beetle. Cowboy beetles lay their eggs in rotting logs.

11.png

I must have breathed on it or something because it suddenly panicked and started to dig in! Maybe I should brush my teeth. Those are moss flowers if you were wondering.

12.png

Photos taken on a canon powershot SX430

THANK YOU FOR CHECKING OUT MY POST ABOUT THE BUGS IN MY GARDEN. IF YOU LIKED THIS POST, CHECK OUT MY OTHER "BUGS IN MY GARDEN" POSTS. CHEERS.

Bugs in my garden (Melbourne, Australia) -- Testing out the new camera!

Bugs in my garden #2 -- Melbourne, Australia.

Bugs in my garden #3 -- Melbourne, Australia.

Bugs in my garden #4 -- The return of the St Andrew cross spider.

rambozo.gif

Sort:  

it's benefit and briliant post, can increase new knowledge for every body if they want to read this post in their spare time. I love your post @ram.bozo

Thank you very much! I like making them!

I am very interested in your great post ... this is very good and interesting information. bug is a rare insects... thanks for sharing ... good luck @ram.bozo

Thanks mate!

Bugs are smarter then people think. This spider got angry cause i kept breaking his web, between the house and my car. Everytime I opened the door it would break..So instead it started building this triangle type web so it wouldnt matter. But i kept accidently running into the web. So now it has put a stick in it (or it just blew there), so i can see it (and stop running into it)...

I bet it did put the stick there. They are pretty cluey beasties! Like the assassin bug pictured about. it lays a trap and waits for its dinner to come to it!

good photo taking @ram.bozo

Thanks mate!

How you capture these outstanding pics great

Ahhh yeah thanks mate, it would probably help if I edit the post and add the camera name in it.
Photos taken on a canon powershot SX430

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 08:48:30
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 36.85/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank