Making The World A Better Place

Let’s Make The World A Better Place

Recently, someone on Steemit that I've come to know and care for, has suffered a set back. She was robbed. her dream business was destroyed. Simply ripped apart, gutted for copper wire. The gut reaction is to send SBD. After all, we want to help those we care about. But it wasn't the robbery that was the problem... the problem is, There's a place in the world for burglars

They were stealing copper to melt for money for food... that's how desperate things are in her part of the world. They need food. Which got a few of us thinking... what can we do to Make the World Better for all?

steem Logo.jpg

For me, I spend my time learning about and playing in the oceans. I am after all, mostly made of salt water (hey, we all are!) My home (Earth) is more than 70% oceans. I don’t like seeing garbage floating in the sea… it’s where I prefer to get my food from.


Do you know how much plastic garbage we toss away a year?
According to a study in Science Magazine, 78 Million tons of plastics are produced a year. Almost 32% end up in our oceans. Only 9% is recycled per year. According to another New Study some 99% of plastic debris in the ocean is unaccounted for, not seen, nor measured, yet! we know it gets dumped, but no idea where it ends up.

Another group of scientists from the US, France, Chile, Australia and New Zealand suggests a minimum of 5.25 Trillion with a T plastic particles in the oceans, most of them “micro plastics” measuring less than 5mm. Published, PLOS, Dec. 2014. These plastics, which take between 500-1000 years to completely break down, are less than 5 mm in size.


So, why does all this matter?
On average on this planet, we dump abut a garbage truck’s worth of plastic in to the oceans every minute A recent study, conducted by Adventure Scientists shows Plastics are in every river, stream, lake, and ocean. They found micro plastics in the Marianas Trench deep under the ocean surface, in glacial water on top of the worlds tallest mountain peaks… literally every body of water studied.


Studies show 1 million sea birds are killed, and over 100,000 mammals, by plastics. Some species, almost 32% of them have plastics in their stomachs at death.

Again, why does all this matter?
Recent Meta-analysis, studies of studies, show, that the Earth’s farms and food production, can currently support less than the 7 billion people we have on it. some show that we should either be at 5 billion or less, or that we need 1.5 Earth’s to feed our current population. So many of today’s people do NOT have enough to eat. What are we gonna do about it?

  • a bunch of us can decide not to breath: population goes down
  • a bunch can decide not to eat: population also goes down
  • solve the food problem people aren't starving

Looking at the Earth, we see 70% of the surface is oceans, and not land. Why not just eat all the food growing there?
What if we had our farms at sea? Well… not sure about you people, but I’d rather NOT eat plastic.

This past week, I was a conference with global leaders in Oceanographic Research and Analysis, leaders in conservation food, and more... Bob Ballard, noted National Geographic Explorer, called for more of our food to be based on the Oceans. I agree… however, Farming fish is not an answer if they’re living in a garbage dump. All we do then, is move the toxic trash to ourselves in the end.

So, what do we do to get more food into our plates? safe foods?

Again, why does all this matter?
We need to look to the Australians, and others.
Decades ago, Aussies started farming tuna. Literally, creating these massive floating pens, and raising tuna from young, though harvest. At first, they were being fed Fish Meal, plant material and other land based foods. Then, an experiment was tried… sure, Tuna are carnivores, but they’re not idiots.

Someone tried a soy based diet. Given the choice between starving, or eating soy based feed, the Tuna chose to eat. After harvest, the Sushi was flown to New York, and served at a high-end fundraiser, featuring top chefs in the city. Imagine the shock when they found out they were eating farms raised, Vegetarian tuna?

The next part of the study involves raising a couple of generations of tuna eating a feed made from ocean growing Algae. The study isn’t peer-reviewed, nor published yet, but the data is simply amazing!

Last Step, why does all this matter to us?
I’m still not eating’ it, until we solve the fact that our food is swimming in a toxic dump of plastics.
That means, you, me, all of us need to stop with the plastic mess we make.

  • We don’t need straws. Carry a permanent one. It has the added benefit of embarrassing your kids, when you whip it out at a restaurant.
  • Stop using plastic bags at grocery stores.
  • Stop buying plastic packaged food, or drinks.
  • Recycle what cannot be avoided

Stop tossing away our trash. It ends up in the oceans, and our food.
And get everyone around us, to stop, too.

Why not?
It means, Less Garbage more, and safer food.

Sort:  

This is just worth reading. We have house in front of the beach in the Philippines. Not all people care if they throw garbage and those who care enough clean their mess and don't just litter anywhere. Yes, need to start from ourselves. Less Garbage, More safer food! Cheers!

Please feel free to share the post.
It's very important for us all to start thinking about this.

I've been using paper straws for about two years now as i don't like the idea of reusing plastic straws and as a crafter I've banned glitter from the house as it is just as bad as microbeads.

My cousin bought us all these hard straws that we carry now.
Not using throw away any more.

My challenge is, I used to use the cocktail straws to count my Gin and Tonics in a bar. NOW, I ahve to try and guess how many I have had...

... oh, the sacrifices I make for the cause!

According to God 's desire, all creation are ment to love each other.but is amazing on how mankind has been wicked to living creature that has water body as a natural habit by dumping plastic waste on water body.we cannot deny the fact that we don't know the effect on water- based creature.thanks for this call for recycling .really ,this is one of the greatest agender the entire globe should put as a fore front.

Good post, thanks for the information @bluefinstudios, this is very useful for me. Have a good day.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 1 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Plastics just you said, makes most of our sea food toxic to our helth at the end of the day. Wow, i make a vow today to carefull start with me to avoid dumping plastics into the water bodies. Thanks a lot.

Hi @bluefinstudios, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Paddling Nature Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Many thanks, and what a cool shot of that OWL!
I've clicked on and upvoted quite a few other posts of the Paddling Nature Ramble.
Thanks for showing me some very nice posts.

You're making me blush! GRIN