Makeover Monday - Cover Songs - Are These Better Than The Original Pt. 1?

in #makeovermonday5 years ago
Today's #makeovermonday is focusing on some very classic songs that were made famous by some very heavy-hitting artists. They were since covered by other artists and some controversy has surrounded them as to whether or not they are actually better than the original. So, my dear readers, I am leaving you to be the judge. You decide. Is the original the better version, or perhaps, is the cover I have chosen the better version?

It is hard for me to choose which version I even prefer so I have chosen to put up both videos for you to compare them against one another. It was difficult to choose three songs for today, but I hope I did right by everyone. I will try to choose a more diverse selection next time I do this series. Let the knock-out rounds commence. I hope you enjoy today's #makeovermonday.

1.Nothing Compares 2 U. This song was originally recorded by the one and only Prince (Rest In Peace), who later changed his name to a symbol. It was later recorded by Sinead O'Connor who had a hit with this song, however, I did not choose Ms. O'Connor's version to battle it out with Prince. I, in fact, found someone else, who did a cover of it. The late Chris Cornell who was the lead vocalist for bands such as Audioslave and Soundgarden. First up is Prince's version, then Chris Cornell's version.


2.Mad World. Originally released by Tears For Fears in 1982 but ended up on their 1983 album, The Hurting. It was later introduced by Gary Jules on the soundtrack to Donnie Darko. Gary Jules did a slight change with the arrangement making it sound more somber. Who did the better job?


3.Sweet Jane. Originally released by The Velvet Underground in 1970. Later on, in 1988, a band called Cowboy Junkies covered this song and it was sort of an anthem in the soundtrack to Natural Born Killers. There's a slight difference as you can tell, but it's still a cover. Whose is better?


Let me know your thoughts and opinions!

Sincerely,
Ilsa Ione

ilsaione_red.png

Sort:  

Sometimes an artist really takes a song and takes it forward. The Cowboy Junkies for example. I forgot about that one Thank you for reminding me.

One of my favorite "cover" bands Is Nouvelle Vague. It's fun to see their very different versions of songs

I agree. I actually prefer Cowboy Junkies version over Velvet Underground's and I am a fan of The Velvet Underground. Sometimes, though, someone does go beyond and can do a better job with it just by tweaking a few things.

Thanks for tuning in and commenting! It means the world to know someone is reading these! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ilsaione from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.