Summer sunset in Texas without the heat - makeup tutorial

in #makeup6 years ago (edited)

summer cover.jpg

If you have ever seen a Texas summer sunset, you will know just where this look comes from. It's a mix of orange-y reddish colors, corals and purples all combined to create a gorgeous summer sky. While the Texas heat is absolutely no joke in the summer, the sunset is nothing short of amazing.

I decided to use the Elf Mad for Matte in Summer Breeze pallet today and my inspiration is from our Texas skies. I hope you like it...

First off let's get the crease color down with a fluffy blending brush and this beautiful peachy coral shade.

summer 1.jpg

Deepen it up a bit more with the darker orange reddish color

summer 2.jpg

With the darker brown color, deepen the outer V to add depth to the eye look.

summer 3.jpg

Next comes the purple. When I first saw this pallet, the first thing that stood out to me was the purple. Right away it reminded me of our sunsets here in Texas. Anyways, pack that purple on the lid with a flat brush.

summer 4.jpg

When you use purple colors or most dark colors on the lid, you want to make the inner corner and the absolute first quarter of your eye lid a lighter color. This will help to keep your eyes from looking bruised like you were in a bar fight.

summer 5.jpg

On a pencil brush and the same purple color, run it along your lower lash line.

summer 6.jpg

Follow up with a nude pencil liner in the lower water line, black liquid liner on top lash line and mascara, and you eyes are done. For my lips and cheeks I used the Loreal Infallible La Rouge lip color in 112 Unending Kiss and blush was the Milani Rose blush in Blossomtime Rose.

summer 8.jpg

And there you go. A summer sunset in Texas, without the hot summer sun temperatures.

summer 7.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my look today. And I want to say a big "THANK YOU" to all of the people that supported yesterday's post on my Pokemon Charmander inspired makeup tutorial. My inspiration came from my 7 year old son, Caleb, who just adores Pokemon and loves the character Charmander.

I was truly overwhelmed by the gracious votes and was very excited that you enjoyed the post, as much as I enjoyed creating it. And as a little FYI all of the earnings from that post (actually all of my posts to be exact) goes to help fund Caleb's 8th birthday party, which, of course, is going to be Pokemon themed. So thank you from the bottom of my heart and Caleb's heart for your support.

Well that's all I have for today. Let me know what other looks you would like to see if you have any ideas. I hope you have a beautiful Wednesday and I will see you all again tomorrow.

Until next time, take care.

-Kim

Where else to find 523:
Instagram: A Day at 523