Why Anti Virus Software could do more harm than good to you?

in #malware7 years ago (edited)

Hi community,

I am working within IT security business and there are always concerns from customers about antivirus software. Question arise like "What if the software is buggy and exploitable?". Hence the question comes up: What can I do? Is it unsafe to use?

15462325023_6bea87f2da_h.jpg

This topic is pretty controversial so I decided to pic it up for my blog where I talk about it. Unfortunately I am writing my blog for a german audience. Anyway I hope some of you can enjoy it :-)

Topics I will cover

  • Antivirus Software and the Turing Machine
  • The Turing Machine itself
  • Consequences for Antivirus software
  • Defense against these Threats
  • My personal summary

Link

Kind regards
André

I used an image called Virus from Yuri Samoilov with Creative Commons Lizenz – CC-BY-SA 2.0