Mardi Gras and its Meaning to Me

in #mardigras6 years ago

Everyone is always asking how I am a princess or if I’m just making everyone call me that for the hell of it. That last bit is partially true but, I swear I’m some type of royalty! You want proof? Well Steemit, here is your proof:

D6AB73A3-8680-422C-9651-6FF9489088E3.jpeg

Here’s photographic evidence that my grandfather was Mardi Gras King in 1995 (two years prior to my birth) and that makes me a princess in my eyes.

Dennis Michael Gros I was loved and adored by anyone who’s ever crossed paths with him. He sadly passed away ten years after this photo due to heart failure but, his spirit and love for life lives on through his grandchildren.

Mardi Gras is a religious holiday to me, I’m literally debating whether or not to go to class tomorrow (Mardi Gras 2018). Papa gave me the belief and faith in the holiday. Most see it as an excuse to get fat but, I see the Catholic ways involved. It is your last chance to eat or drink what you will be fasting for lent (the next 40 days).

AA435039-3878-4330-B7BC-DA7A508D5DE1.jpeg

There also is a ton of meaning behind the King Cake, if you weren’t aware. Each color itself represents something different: Gold means power, Green means faith, and Purple means justice. The baby found in the cake is to represent Baby Jesus, of course. And whoever is to have that slice, has the duties to buy and serve the cake the following year.

Even the name has meaning, King Cake is traditionally served January 6 (King’s Day) to the Eve of Mardi Gras. It is to celebrate and remember The Three Kings (Wise Men from the Bible). It is an honor to them with a sweet homage to their jeweled crowns.

Lots of people typically use it as a reason to get drunk and forget the world for a night, but to some of us, it’s a huge celebration of religion.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kelselaine23 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.