4:20 Today: Sampling the Future of Marijuana Flower Genetics.

in #marijuana8 years ago (edited)

Backstory

So there I was. I had brought a swisher and some weed to a friends apartment, but she was particularly giggly this afternoon. As we smoked she continued to chuckle and kept making a face like a child bursting to tell a secret. After awhile it became so obvious (and annoying) that I just had to ask what the deal was. It appeared she had been waiting for this question. She propelled herself off the family room couch with both her hands and headed down her apartment hallway in a goofy/sly creeping movement. She came back seconds later with an old Mason jar, that she likes to keep her personals in, clutched to her chest so I couldn't see the contents. She sat for a moment and asked me what "the killest weed (I) ever smoked was."

I thought for a second, and then told her about some 30% THC 'OG Kush' that I had gotten an 8th of a few weeks back and I had really enjoyed it. Complete cerebral relaxation. And then with a smile she pulled out this:

Genetics

Animal Cookies Hybrid


Credit: Leafly.com

Lineage - Girl Scout Cookies x Fire Og

THCA: 28.23%
THC: 8.72%
THCD9: .98%
CBG: 0.22%
CBD: 0.00%

Detected Total Cannabinoids: 38.15%

Actual Total THC: 36.82%

Actual Total Cannabinoids: 37.04%

Dispensary: SeaChange Cannabis
Grow: BlackSmith Farms

Experience

Immediately upon taking my first hit, I noticed a distinct harshness to the bud. It wasn't harsh in a chemical or pesticide way, but like that of wax or having taken far too big of a hit (even though I approached the super-strain with caution, taking only a small bong rip to begin.) It was smooth going in but the pressure on my lungs immediately sent me flying into a coughing fit. This further fueled giggles from my friend, but this time I didn't mind. I was now in on the joke giggling with her. I felt a pressure behind my eyes building and soon after my second hit my coughing fit gave way to a fit of laughter over this oddity of a strain: As if we had just discovered weed and couldn't wait for the rest of the world to experience this wonderful little secret of ours.

There was an extreme body high, above all else, where my back's and neck's post-seizure cramps seemed to vanish. These pains were replaced by a complete euphoria as we continued to snicker, until my sides ached, about seemingly nothing. Along with this, the strain's effects was accompanied by a unique lack of awareness of my surroundings that I have only experienced some of the first times I ever got high and when I was very drunk: Total Tunnel Vision.

Additionally, as I stated before, the agitated mood I had been in all day, and the annoying behavior of my friend were completely forgotten in favor of the stress-free mood and environment quickly enveloping us. So much so, that I actually enthusiastically played (boring) backgammon and found myself attempting to rewrite the opening of The Odyssey by Homer with very little success. After several attempts to reverse my car out of a narrow spot, and over 2 hours later, I was finally able to drive my vehicle the short 5-10 minute drive from her apartment back to my house.

Taste, Smell and Terpenes

Taste and Terpenes

As I stated above, the weed was harsh, but did not have any of the classic harsh taste characteristic of pesticides or chemicals which weren't flushed out properly. This harshness, in my humble opinion, came from the unprecedented potency of THC in the flower.

The Terpenes present included: Myrcene at 1.05%, a-Pinene 0.37%, Beta-Caryophyllene .168%, and lastly a-Terpinine at .06%. These terpenes created the following flavors when inhaled: Myrcene created a flowery, rose pedal-esq taste, a-Pinene created a classic Pine flavor, Beta-Caryophyllene created an Earthy undertone that tasted like Autumn Air, while a-Terpinine produced a strong Diesel-y flavor.

As a result, it's Taste was intensely diesel with the sweetness of berries that complimented the Diesel nicely. This was accompanied by a refreshing earthy quality that cut into the Diesel taste leaving the perfect blend of flavor that lingered on the tongue when exhaled.

Smell

The smell was pungent with a predominantly minty aroma joined with a powerful piney smell followed by the smell of a gasoline-like Diesel.

All in all it was one hell of a smoke. Thank you for reading and a big Thank you to SeaChange Cannabis and BlackSmith Farms for the hookup.

I doubt I'll come across something of this magnitude again, but if I find something comparable then you'll certainly be the first to know Steemit!

Credited: Leafly.com for green periodic table strain picture.

Sort:  

Great review, reminded me of a wine article, nice work!

Thanks Jed! I normally don't post in marijuana because I don't think I have anything worthy but I thought this was definitely a sight to share with the Steemit gang!

I keep an eye on marijuana, i don't use it, but I grow hydro tomatoes, never know, I'm might learn something about hydro I can apply to my growing, or maybe I can help someone else with hydro. We all have to work together, no matter our background

Perfect mindset! I whole heartedly agree. Steemit is a community that is only as strong as the information we share with eachother! I have a small background in hydroponics but would love to learn more! I'm sure many in the marijuana and other agricultural categories would agree with me! You should definitely post some tutorials if nothing else you'll have my upvote! ;)

Congratulations @scaracara! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!