A Very Special #marketfriday with @dswigle Glorious Orchids!

Hey everyone as far as I can remember (not one of my virtues) this will be my first #marketfriday post on hive,albeit on a Saturday a little late, how exciting!

Have you heard of @dswigle and her epic #marketfriday if not where have you been? Head off over here give her some love, post a comment and entry: https://hive.blog/hive-196308/@dswigle/all-that-glitters-at-the-gold-market

thumbnail_20200528_125702.jpg

So I woke up yesterday and it dawned on me, WTF I have to date stil not posted #marketfriday on hive, WHY Craig? Even me I don't know, lol so I jumped on my scooter and head off to one of my most favourite places, one of the local Nurseries to take some epic pics and boy did I score the proverbial 'motherload'!

thumbnail_20200528_125759.jpg

This particual Nursery is aptly named 'LOTS OF POTS' as naturally, they sell all sorts of plastic, steel, porcelain and terracotta pots in all persuasions, shapes and sizes, but what most South African folks do not know, is they specialize in the most exotic and colourful orchids!

Orchids, sweet orchids everywhere, they have some fantastic specials too 2 for 1 deals etc. That magnificent yellow beauty above however packs a hefty price tag around $25 I was considering buying it though?

thumbnail_20200528_125830.jpg

Have you EVER seen an Orchid this pretty??

thumbnail_20200528_125756.jpg

Here the above yellow and red hybrid as I assume most of these are!

thumbnail_20200528_125807.jpg

thumbnail_20200528_125820.jpg

Don't forget to wash your hand folks because this is the 'new normal' yes even in Africa, sigh .....

thumbnail_20200528_130025.jpg

thumbnail_20200528_125731.jpg

Orchids really do come in a vast array of glorious colours and size, in fact would you believe there are over 100 000 hybrids and cultivars: Orchid" redirects here. For other uses, see Orchid (disambiguation).
Orchidaceae
Temporal range: 80–0 Ma
PreЄЄOSDCPTJKPgN
Late Cretaceous – Recent
Haeckel Orchidae.jpg
Colour plate from Ernst Haeckel's Kunstformen der Natur, 1906
Scientific classificatione
Kingdom: Plantae
Clade: Tracheophytes
Clade: Angiosperms
Clade: Monocots
Order: Asparagales
Family: Orchidaceae
Juss.[1]
Type genus
Orchis
Tourn. ex L.
Subfamilies
Apostasioideae Horaninov
Cypripedioideae Kosteletzky
Epidendroideae Kosteletzky
Orchidoideae Eaton
Vanilloideae Szlachetko
Orchidaceae.png
Distribution range of family Orchidaceae
The Orchidaceae are a diverse and widespread family of flowering plants, with blooms that are often colourful and fragrant, commonly known as the orchid family.

Along with the Asteraceae, they are one of the two largest families of flowering plants. The Orchidaceae have about 28,000 currently accepted species, distributed in about 763 genera.[2][3] The determination of which family is larger is still under debate, because verified data on the members of such enormous families are continually in flux. Regardless, the number of orchid species is nearly equal to the number of bony fishes, more than twice the number of bird species, and about four times the number of mammal species.

The family encompasses about 6–11% of all seed plants.[4] The largest genera are Bulbophyllum (2,000 species), Epidendrum (1,500 species), Dendrobium (1,400 species) and Pleurothallis (1,000 species). It also includes Vanilla (the genus of the vanilla plant), the type genus Orchis, and many commonly cultivated plants such as Phalaenopsis and Cattleya. Moreover, since the introduction of tropical species into cultivation in the 19th century, horticulturists have produced more than 100,000 hybrids and cultivars.

More here as per wikipedia:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orchidaceae

As nurseries go they have a plethora of water features, plants and interesting gifts available too...

thumbnail_20200528_125653.jpg

thumbnail_20200528_125654.jpg

I took some really nice pictures of all their latest bonsai Tree's in stock which I shall blog too soonest, but here a 'sneaky peak' of whats to come a lovely Wild Fig!

thumbnail_20200528_130030.jpg

Nature the incredible!

Love and light, be blessed and have a magic weekend.

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Did you buy some? :)

lol not yet but I think I'm going to he he Cheer$;)

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Much love bruv thanks a mil

Aren't orchids just amazing! Occasionally our local shopping centre hosts an orchid competition/show. It's been a while, though, and I suspect we won't seeing one this year.

I've often been curious, so bonsai fruit and nut trees produce fruit and if so, are they also miniature?

Hey thanks for popping in. They do I am told and have seen but only after years good luck me ;)

Wow!!! First of all, thanks for the awesome shoutout to me and to #MarketFriday! And I love that you brought me to one of my favorite places on earth!

The nursery! You have such an awesome place there and I am stunned by the sheer amount of orchids that you have! I have honestly never seen one like the boldly colored yellow one. Orchids are so vibrant in their colors, or deeply rich in color... One of the other. I see that there are rows and rows of purple ones. Is purple a common color for an orchid? Although truth be told, there is nothing common about an orchid. :)

I want to thank you for all the info you culled on these. I have one orchid. That is it, but, it favors me with the most gorgeous blooms that seemingly last forever and a day. I am so happy to see the signs up about sanitizing, even in the nursery. I hope you got one! They are almost too beautiful to pass up! Painful, in fact! Thanks again, Craig! You are the best!!!

Thanks for joining!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @craigcryptoking! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.