My Neighborhood Market - A Market Friday Contribution

This is the street I take every time I go to the "talipapa". It's a local term for a small temporary market, usually for fish, vegetables and fruits. The name of this street is Sea Lion and yes, you guessed it right, this is the street where I live. And since I am going to the market now, and it's a Friday, I am making this my maiden entry to #marketfriday sponsored by @dswigle. I came to know about this by reading the posts of a recent acquaintance @tatoodjay.
dyscv0.png

The "talipapa" is very common in our country. it can be found in almost every street intersection outside the downtown area. Or outside subdivisions where homeowners, returning from work, could just conveniently stop and pick up a few items they might need for supper or for breakfast the next day. Like if you're cooking dinner and you realize you've run out of onions or garlic, the "talipapa" is the easiest and fastest way to get these without disrupting your cooking.

This is the "talipapa" outside our subdivision and it's fairly similar with most others you can see almost anywhere in the city.
zwfcxi.png
Photo above shows a fish and vegetable stalls. Let's take a closer look at these.

Different varieties of fish, from farm produced like the milkfish and tilapia (St. Peter's fish) to deep sea fish like grouper, mackerel and white and blue marlin.

94lm9t.png

The picture below shows the tail and part of the body of a yellow fin tuna. This fish can grow to as big as 60 to 80 kilos and is the preferred variety for sushi and sashimi (Japanese food).

ee5sux.png

Deboning of milkfish (deboned milkfish is a best-seller in this stall). This stall also sells fresh chicken.

s1ftqe.png

After the fish stall is the vegetable stall. Here fresh veggies are sold by the piece or by weight and during rush hour this is just packed with people lining up to buy.
tsg2yi.png

The convenience that the "talipapa" offers comes with a stiff quid pro quo. In exchange for the convenience, the prices are usually higher than that of the regular markets or the supermarkets. But what the heck. People don't mind buying because it saves them the trip of going downtown or going to the supermarket.

These are pictures of the market on the left side of the road. The stalls on the right side, I have decided to feature in my next marketfriday post. I hope you enjoyed this short post and I do hope to see you again. And as @dswigle is apt to say, there should always be a flower. So, on my way to the market, I took pictures of the flowers that were along the way. I am posting 3 that I think you will find most interesting. For the rest, I did a post on that just before this. You are welcome to visit my blog to check it out :)

A bird of paradise

1qtytn.png

A Chinese Honeysuckle

cjcbwz.png

A Red Ginger

udzrrq.png

All for now friends. Thanks for the visit and may your market day be a lovely experience as the flowers I met along the way.

(Note: All pictures taken from my Samsung J2 Prime Cellphone.)

Sort:  

Congratulations @gems.and.cookies! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 200 posts. Your next target is to reach 250 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!
 4 years ago  Reveal Comment