Market Friday

in #marketfriday3 years ago

Market Friday

A post for Market Friday hosted by @dswigle, if you haven't followed her yet you should she is one of the kindest and most supportive people here on Hive, a comment from her is like a ray of sunshine on your page.
This is the one tag and daily challenge that I always make a point of joining, and also look through the posts of others that join the challenge and seeing markets from all around the world.

For this weeks post, I have recent shots taken at the port, but I have done that last week so I want to mix it up so this week I dig into my archives, and sharing some shots from a visit to the Buttonwood Park Zoo here in New Bedford.

Now you pay to visit the Zoo so I take that to be a market (of sorts)

Starting off with this shot of a duck with water spraying


BP zoo-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 320
Click here to view larger


I think these are some other form of Duck.
Last year Lulu and I got a yearly pass for the Zoo as we thought we would visit it often, but we have only been the once, the plan had been to visit there in spring and summer more, but plans change and Lulu hasn't felt up to walks as long as are needed to go round the Zoo, and I feel bad going there on my own since it was something we planned to do together, maybe next year we will head there again.

I thin these are also some form of Duck resting beside one of the ponds


BP zoo.jpg

Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 500
Click here to view larger


Now I do have mixed feelings about Zoos. I do love visiting them, especially large open Zoos with lots of space for all the animals, but smaller ones with less space for the animals I do feel for the animals caged up and restricted.

Now Buttonwood Park Zoo probably falls into the second category as it is a smaller Zoo, but they do seem to look after the animals, but I still have mixed feelings when visiting there

and here we have a Beaver


BP zoo-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger


and the little duck I started the post with he seemed to have got shy by this stage and looked away LOL


BP zoo-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 250
Click here to view larger


These were cool to see, hard to get a clear shot of them with the wire cage.
Now these i do feel for stuck in an Aviary and I did look them up after our visit there Source

The Zoo is home to two rescued bald eagles. Our male eagle, Taz, came to us in 2004 from a rehabilitation center in Alaska after he was injured by flying into a power line. He was not able to be released due to the extent of his injury, but now has a forever home here at the Zoo alongside our rescued female bald eagle. Our female eagle, Birda, was found in Massachusetts as a juvenile. She was emaciated and had a severe eye injury which needed to be removed. These majestic birds were not able to be returned to the wild and the Zoo has been able to provide a permanent home for them.

So then I didn't feel so bad since their injuries did not allow for them to be released into the wild


BP zoo-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 150mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger


Next up we have the Sandhill Cranes



BP zoo-7.jpg

Click here to view larger


BP zoo-8.jpg

Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks



unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

We haven't started Team USA on Hive yet but no doubt it will come shortly

TEAMUSAhive JJ.jpg

!pinmapple 41.631067 lat -70.952332 long Buttonwood Park Zoo New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

These are all beautiful photos of beautiful birds, but I love the Beaver, not only because it's the only mammal here, and not only because its German name is Biber which is almost like my surname, but the photo is great - perfect lighting and colours in my eyes 😃👍

I hope that next year will be better for all of us (we said this in 2019 too ;) and that you'll get the chance to visit this zoo more often with Lulu 😊


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

Thanks my friend I can see why you like the beaver
Yes let’s hope next year is better

!ENGAGE 30
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Haha yes, the other kids at school have always made fun of it 🤣
This year is already better than the last one, so 2022 can only get better than 21 😎


!ENGAGE 30
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

I like your positive way of thinking and I support it 3022 is going to be a great year

!ENGAGE 30
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

I try to think positive, although the signs don't look so positive and I rather believe that your typo was no typo and the next great year will be 3022 🤣


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

OMG that’s a scary typo and I hope it is 2022 and not 3032
That’s a dreadful thought with the typo

Hahaha, I thought it was on purpose to be honest 😎

I have just come back from a ride and I was testing the DJI Pocket 2. That little thing makes great videos, but it's not meant to be mounted on a Harley, I believe. The vibrating seems to be too much and the video is awful, just wobbling and really not viewable. So, maybe I'll try my son's GoPro one day :)


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (6/20)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (4/20)

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @tattoodjay.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINE Token Discord Channel
WINE Current Market Price : 0.136

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/20)

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Du wurdest als Member von @investinthefutur gevotet!
Dazu noch ein kleines !BEER & VOIN-Token


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

How much is the duck costs? 😂

Lol

Have a great day

Beautiful, lovely! I am sure you and lulu enjoyed your trip to Zoo. This is so motivating that I have decided to post my Canberra Zoo trip as soon as possible. Your images are great especially the first that I kept watching for all of one minute.

Thanks kindly
And I hope you can make it to the zoo

No, I don't think I can make it to Canberra Zoo right now but I will use my album photos :

Cool I look forward to seeing them please tag me in your post so I don’t miss it

Splendid photography of these zoo animals Ducks look great but them Bald Eagles, I love.

Thanks 🙏 I did love the Bald eagle shit as well

Zoo is amazing place to see creatures because if wild animals meet you in real, you could come in danger.
Hence they all are beautiful and your photography is amazing. And JJ I am wondering where are other animals please share them as well, if you have captured them. 💖
Well I am also planning to visit my nearest zoo, it's been a long time maybe 10 years I have not visited I think I must go this time.
Thanks for the post JJ. Have a wonderful day

I think I did another post of the animals last year
I must visit it again soon

Nice movement of birds photography.

Thanks 🙏

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1283.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks 👍🙂👍

Market Friday! Sound strange, this is my first time of coming across market Friday, maybe because I've not been so active, always busy at school. Not too bad I can still participate in this next week..

Of course visiting the zoo is like market too, because you paid before you're granted access to the place, I can see you really take your time view a lot of animals in the zoo.

Can animals feel shy? The duck reaction made me to ask, sound funny to me..lol
Think it better to cage the eagle to keep them in safer hand , because of their injury just like you said.

Wow! The sandhill is looking amazing with it's long neck and leg. I've not seen one over here before, like I'm serious. Lol

You really had a nice moment at the zoo, maybe next time you'll take me along to see different types of animals 😂😂🤣

Market Friday is a cool challenge I try and join often
I was joking about the duck being shy ☺️

Yes I must go again y try o the zoo and get more shots

I know you're joking about that , though I never can tell, it's might be true.

Will be waiting for more shots from you on Friday, I'm sure is going to be amazing and superb than this..lol

It's certain I will not be going to the zoo , maybe some other place... hehehehe

There are some many things that can be considered a market

Have fun

For real, any thing that have to deal with money I guess??

The Lady who host sit is very open as to what is considered a market so anywhere you feel fits will fit ;)

Exactly!! Will try make sure I the part in it, then I put it in a ink

Oh, the ZOO!!!
I wonder if the Sacramento Zoo is open! I have not been to the zoo for ages!
And so I appreciate this sooo much. I really am missing so much.
Look at all the ducks and cranes... and the bald eagle!
Thanks @tattoodjay!

Thanks I really have to visit it again soon
Glad you like the post

Me too. I've never been to the Sacrament Zoo. It is the closest one.
Sac-Zoo-Map-2019.jpg

I think I saw a show on the Sacramento Zoo seemed quite big and real nice

These are wonderful shots, JJ! @tattoodjay I am of the same mind when it comes to zoos. I don't like seeing them all caged up and many of them do a good job to make the enclosures natural-looking, but, I still feel bad for them, knowing they can't go anywhere. The ones that are injured and are different and I feel like they are doing a service to them.

That being said, your beaver shot is awesome, they are rarely spotted like that. I had almost a dozen of them in a pond at my summer house and when I went home at the end of summer when I came back the next summer, I didn't have any hardwood left on the 40 acres. I am not lying. So the beaver and I have a love/hate relationship.

The duck shots are great, I love how you caught the water flying off!

A wonderfully put-together #MarketFriday. I appreciate how much effort you put into making #MarketFriday a success! It is interesting to see the different cultures in our little world. It opens up my world, and, I hope yours too. Thank you so much for being a part of all this. I hope you have a most wonderful day! Hive on!!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and to restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.

Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! You must use #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post and then drop the link to your post on my #MarketFriday post, so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you! ❤️

Upped and reposted

Thanks WOW I knew beavers were active but not that active

Always a pleasure to join market Friday

There was a tribe of them! They were river beavers! I am not sure if that is different than the others, but, they all eat the hardwood! And you should see those teeth up close!!!

An orthodontist would not be out of the question!

Even so with a tribe sounds like they did so much damage

I hope your day has gone well and you managed to stay cool

I did! Thanks!

Great work keep it up


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks 🙏

Thank you for taking us all on another adventure (This time in the zoo!) Jay! LOVED it and your right... Some animals it makes sense that their home is permanently at the zoo... Others I certainly feel for. I know that this is my own wild at heart naturally feeling for them. I can almost feel them longing for their natural born freedom.

Thanks kindly Will
Yes that’s how o feel always have mixed emotions when visiting a zoo