Muay Thai Kickboxing and how does it feel for a total beginner?

in #martialarts8 years ago

If you want things in your life to change,
you’ve got to change things in your life.


Source: destinasian.com

It was my lifelong wish to once learn how to fight, or at least how to defend my family and myself.

When I was trying to determine which martial art would hit the sweet spot based on several factors, i.e. availability, vicinity, cost, type, schedule, it really got me thinking...

Parallel universe wishes

I watched a great deal of Shaolin kung fu videos and movies and I wanted to train something similar.


Source: en.cnta.gov.cn Mount Song

I was fascinated by the things they were doing up there on that mountain. I watched plenty of documentaries, but there was one movie that I particularly liked for some reason: "The 36th Chamber of Shaolin".


Source: imdb.com

The film was about a young refugee running for his life . A Shaolin monastery up in the mountains seemed like a good choice for some reason. So the monks let him stay there but they didn't really throw a welcoming party. He worked as servant for a long time. To cut the story short, he somehow managed to get them to share their kung fu wisdom.

The lessons are taught through the chambers, each of them covering one important essence of their teachings.
Some of them were physical, some of them were mental.

I remember the one where they were supposed to carry a bucket full of water in each hand, but with straight arms and knifes on the elbows facing down. They also walked in line onto the some kind of pyramid that looked similar to Chichén Itzá where they would empty the buckets. The point was => shoulder strengthening.


The main guy learning the lesson

Then the one in which he had to head bump everything and everyone in his way => head strengthening.

Funny lesson was when they were required to hold a long stick with a rock on its other end. As if that experience alone wasn't excruciating enough, when he managed to hold it in the air, he was required to follow the chamber chief monks beat. Hilarity ensued. The point was => underarm strengthening.


Source: ign.com

In one he was required to follow a metronome thingy only with his eyes. Moving his head resulted in burning hisface because 2 fat Cuban cigars were lighted next to his face.


He is also not sure if anything good will come out of this lesson.

After all that and many more he became a Shaolin expert and decided to exit monastery which of course wasn't allowed.

The part I liked the most was when he showcased the techniques learned in real life (aka movie scene) situations. At that moment I was sure I want to train like those guys.

The only problem was that I wasn't born in Henan County in China so I couldn't be recruited as a newborn to start the tryouts.

Damn... I guess I will not be training Shaolin kung fu any time soon.

Real life wishes

As for workout concerned, my demands were for it to be physically exhausting and... that's it.

I am not an aggressive person. Any type of martial art would be cool because I've never trained anything similar. I've actually never visualized a fight in my life neither I was punched in the face. So there is that.

At first, I thought that I want to learn a martial art where legs are involved. After all those roundhouse knockdown finishes in movies, you can't help but wonder wouldn't it be cool to be able to do that? Also I trained dancing for quite a bit so I decided it would be a shame not to use legs.

(


Just a guy taking down a street lamp like it was on his work desk...

Then a sudden realization hit me:
"Oh boy. That leg thing is a double edged sword. If I can use them, my opponents can use them too..."
I'm too pretty to be hit like in the movies.

Therefore, I chose boxing as it allows only hand combat.

How I started training Muay Thai?

By accident. A friend brought me into it. He remembered that I was talking about boxing and mentioned his newly started martial art practices.

Later I realized the cool thing is that we were both total beginners with similar physiques and have a weight difference of only a few pounds. Ideal for training in pairs!

And so I went on my first training not knowing what do the words Muay Thai even mean.
What could possibly go wrong?

First training was free so I decided that the best source to learn how does it look like, is to actually experience the practice.

I just went for it. Maybe I should've googled it first. I mean I knew what it was, but I did not visualize anything further than entering the gym.

Muay Thai

Muay Thai or Thailand boxing is a martial art created as result of continuous conflicts of Thai people on their way from southeast China to the area of today's Thailand.

Because of constant disagreements with the rest of the nations that inhabited the Indochinese peninsula,
Thai people were in need of a martial art that would help them defend their country.

A skill which would be possible to learn in a short period of time and in the same time very effective in almost daily border conflicts.


Source: Wikipedia - Thailand

In the beginning Thai box was teached as a part of warrior skills which also included skills like sword and spear handling, archery and horse riding.

One of the oldest documents mentioning Thai boxing is legend from 1548. and it describes a boxing fight between Thai king Naresuan and Burmese king.

Legend says that a big Burmese army was preparing to invade Thai kingdom, and trying to avoid unnecessary victims, two kings decided to have boxing match. Match lasted for a few hours when prince Naresuan was declared winner and therefore saved the country.


Source: kstmuayhthai.com

Thai boxing goes through prosperous period in the beginning of 18. century when it was introduced as an obligatory subject in all of schools in Thailand.


Source: Wikipedia: Lumpinee Boxing Stadium

Lumpinee Boxing Stadium is an indoor sporting arena located in Bangkok, Thailand. Opened more than a decade later than Rajadamnern Stadium, the Lumpinee is run by Royal Thai Army on behalf of Thai Government. It has become the symbol of modern Muay Thai.

Fight rules

In the beginning fighters were fighting barefisted (only with bandages) and the fights lasted 11 rounds each lasting 3 minutes.


Source: Wikipedia - High kick block

Today, they are fighting with 6 Oz gloves and maximum fight length is 5 rounds with 2 minutes of rest. The rules remained virtually unchanged.

This skill is often called the art of eight limbs because you are allowed to use your fists, elbows, shins and knees.


Source: deviantart mxxiii-photography

You can also hold your opponent without joint locks, push him or throw him.

How does the practice look like?

First you need to learn how to hold guard. Then you need to develop endurance to hold it throughout the practice.

So first problem you encounter is the strength of your shoulders. You need to be able to hold hands in the air like its nothing. Fun fact: they hurt like hell if you are not used to it. Luckily, dance also requires you to hold hands in the air constantly so I had some prerequisites.


Source: martialartsplanet.com

The beginners should hold a little higher guard because you are simply not used to hold your hands in the air. After a while, you can start experiencing as lowering your guard enables you to throw faster or a different kind of attacks. It also leaves you more vulnerable. It's a trade off worth exploring.

Next on the schedule is throwing your first punches. Important thing is to throw a punch with your whole body. This means that your punch comes not only from your fist, but from your shoulder, core, hip, knee and foot together. You need combined rotation of your whole body to land a hard punch.


Source: muaythaipros.com

I've never though of it that way before muay thai. But this explains how its possible to knock down a person with a single punch. If its performed accurately and with rotating whole body, it can be devastating.

After learning basic punches and movement, you can start learning about kicks.

After one practice where low kick was primary lesson, you will forget why did you want to train this in the first place.

This stuff makes you a man. Repeated kicks with your shin on your friends thigh. Precious moments.

You start to feel it after third consecutive kick in one spot on your thigh. That is also a goal, to be precise, to wear the opponent down.

After low kick, there comes knee kick, middle kick, stomach kick, high kick etc. Pawing your way from simpler to more complex ones.


Source: hghattis

Good trainer will add them one by one and diversify the combinations so you get general knowledge of all the movements.

I must not forget one important aspect of Thai boxing which often goes unnoticed, the clinching.


Kem vs Sittichai clinching at Sitsongpeenong Yokkao Training Center

Clinching is the real stuff. Here you see who doesn't let others throw him around. It's allowed to hold your opponent unless you hold him in joint lock. The main goals is to enter opponents space and land a knee or a elbow kick or to shorten opponents space and make him unable to throw punches because you are too close. Of course, you must protect your head.


Source: scifighting.com

For beginners, the point in clinching is to put your enemies head on your chest. That way you deny him vision and make his head a great deal closer to your knee, which on par with elbow is your most deadly weapon.

After basic introdution to clinching, there is a follow up in techniques, tricks, takedowns, balancing.

Basically the idea is that you must be like water.

I thought I understood this quote until I started clinching.

If life gives you a cup, you fill a cup. If a life gives you a bowl, you feel a bowl. Yeah, that was understandable.

But I was still wondering what exactly did Bruce learn through kung fu that made him say that. I realized (with the help of my trainer) that you waste your energy trying to break the enemy where he is hard, let him through on that side and attack from a different angle. Meaning adapt to circumstances.

If you've read carefully you noticed that I did not mention elbows until now. It's because they are to be used with caution. Elbow strike is the most deadly strike. You should not use elbow strike unless your life is in danger. It can leave permanent consequences.


This did not end up well

My trainer told me that not if, but when elbow goes through your guard, only bad things happen. That's why we don't use elbows that much while sparring. We use them mostly while training on heavy or focus bags or when we slowly present techniques.

Of course, on par with attacks, there is the same set of defensive moves.

Main shields being your forearms and shins. So i.e. when expecting a middle kick you would raise appropriate knee towards your hands so the shin would block the attack. If you think that hurts, try not raising your leg.


Source: ockickboxing.com

Training schemes

As I see it, there is five types of training and every week is a mix of following:

  • technique practice - shadow boxing, working on bags. Learning how to throw a proper punch.
  • endurance practice - it's something entirely different when someone else dictates the tempo. Person holding the pads is your master for 3 minutes. Exhaustion ensued.
  • strength practice - general strength exercises adapted to thai boxing for developing needed muscles. Obligatory pushups, sit ups, sprints and squats.
  • clinching - self explanatory. Special kind of soreness comes after this part.
  • sparring - real time action. Combines all of the above and more.

Before the first practice I thought to my self I must be crazy if I would ever like to get in a ring and fight someone as a training. After three months, the training started as usual, with warm up and some basic stretching. And before I could realize what is happening, I was in the middle of the ring with a guy. The training has just started, how can I say I'm not for it, I haven't even tried.


Source: muaythaiguy.com

I survived to tell the story, that's important. Every time I have to go in a ring my heart skips a beat, but every time I exit a ring, I feel a little bit tougher.

How do you feel after a practice?

Like a God from Olymp. I've never tasted more delicious protein shake or felt more amazing under a cold water shower.

You also feel bruises on your shins, and on your forearms.

(


Buakaw Banchamek conditioning his shins on a bambus tree

And maybe sore quadriceps from a number of low kicks, or your stomach hurts because of muay geri's in your belly. Maybe you feel your neck is alive because of some clinching you did yesterday.
Or your nose bled during workout because you didn't hold your guard.

This is a full contact sport and it consequently consists of strengthening your body parts to endure more pain than average Joe could undergo. But it does come with a price.


Classic look of a shin after a workout

Mind game

Trainer would come to me during the practice:

Trainer: "Mislav, is it hurting?
Me: "No." (It's a trick question so I'm trying to act tough)
Trainer: "Then why are you making a grimace?"
Me: "I don't know."
Trainer: "Don't make grimace. Maintain same expression throughout the round. When you make a face, you reveal emotions. When you reveal emotions, your opponent can read you."

Another time, we were running for a warm up. I was breathing heavily from sprints and jumping jacks.

Trainer: "Who is the dying cow?"
We keep running in silence. No one understands what he meant.
Trainer repeats himself: "Who is breathing so loud?"?
Me: "I do."
Trainer: "What were you thinking Mislav? Are you tired? Find appropriate rhythm and maintain it. Power down your breathing. You must not show to your opponent that it is hard for you, especially when you're tired. It's the worse time to show it."

One important aspect I failed to mention is maintaining the eye contact.


This guy does it the best

I cannot emphasize enough how important and hard this is. For a beginner, it's really hard not to close your eyes while being punched. Hell, first two months I couldn't even throw a punch with my eyes open.

It's important to watch your opponent. Maybe the most important of all aspects. I realized I close down when the punches and kicks start raining. In that moment, I can't see a thing and they only keep coming and I'm more vulnerable.

Conclusion

Muay Thai has taught me invaluable life lessons:

  • You learn how to accept a punch
  • You learn how to throw a punch
  • You learn not to fight outside of the gym
  • It physically exhausts and makes you change your life habits because you don't want to burn out 10 min into the training
  • It keeps you in the moment. Teaches you that if you lose focus on 5 sec during 3 min round, you can end up on the floor


Source: tigermuaythai.com

There is plenty of where that came from but I would need another post to explain what are the benefits of Muay Thai. There is so much I did not mention. Hope you liked this post.

I'm looking forward to your feedback. Are you guys training some kind of martial art?

Maybe something completely different like jiu-jitsu, aikido or krav maga?

Have a nice day.

Sort:  

Cool post. I don't know much about martial arts but this was quite enjoyable. Thanks for taking us on your journey.

Why won't you try? I have been training it for about 3 years, it is a really great fun, not only pain :D
If dont like being hit, then you can try BJJ ( brazilian jiu-jitsu ) which is basically grapling, no hits, only ground game :)

No problem. I loved the journey. Hope you love the payout!

or should i @fuck.off ? haha :D

Great post! always loved Tony Jaa and Ong Bak!

Yes, Tony Jaa is awesome!

I absolutely loved this post! I am an avid UFC fan and enjoy learning all the different skills that go into the various disciplines for MMA. I have the utmost respect for those that dedicate their lives to perfecting this bloody ballet.

I am looking to do a post about the people who are in favor of UFC vs. those who oppose it. Muay Thai, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, boxing and wrestling seem to be the most popular, but I also wonder how some of the other disciplines like aikido or krav maga would do in the octogon.

I would like to finish my post before UFC 202 and also promote the fierce battle between two very emotional and entertaining combatants. Connor McGregor and Nick Diaz will face against each other for the second time to see if Connor can beat Nick after a devastating loss in UFC 196. This will be one of the best fights of 2016.

ufc-202babe6.jpg

I'd love to run my ideas by you when I complete my post, and let you weigh in with your personal feedback. I'd be happy to share the reward from the post too if you would wish.

Glad to have someone so well versed in Muay Thai here on steemit. I hope to see more from you and have added you to my follow list.

Muay-Thai is a really good martial art, i like the usage of elbow in the fights, this is just crushing the opponent if you can hit it good.

I've been training it for about 3 years , and i have to say that after every lesson, when im getting home, im feeling like my legs are going to die :D

But it was a routine for me- so i have finally learned to overcome my pain, and not bother something not important ( like pain haha :D ).

I love muay-thai mainly because im well fitted for street fights, i have fought many people outside the gym, and i have to say that muay-thai can really teach you well.

Boxing in my opinion isn't so good if you are doing street fight, because sometimes you are evading very stupid according where you are- you just get knee in the face and that will finish your fight.

In muay-thai, you are always prepared to get leg or knee into face, so it is not going to happen if you are trained well :)

Then we share a similar path. Except that I didn't participate in street fights yet. I hope I never will.
But good to know that you think it prepares us well! Thank you for your feedback.

Yeah, i hope you are not going to participate in them, mostly they are fucking dangerous.
That is why im always holding a knife with myself, because even if i know i can do self-defense, one day i can get stabbed too.
Remain safe man!

Thanks for a fantastic post. Makes me itch to get to the gym...

Ever heard your trainer say anything about knives, Mislav?

Nope, we don't use knives.

Very nice explanation of muay thai. I have been doing Thai boxing Dutch style for over 2 years and soon doing my 3rd amateur match in Thai. It's a very satisfying sport not because of the hitting and striking itself but more on how you are able to face your opponent without panicking and learn to control your fear. In the ring it's only you and your opponent, nothing else matters :) good luck with your Thai!

I fair better in Dutch Style tho I have some strong Clinch control skills my elbows are crap

I wanted to pick up boxing myself, but never got around to it. It still looks as interesting to me as it did before.

Try it. You won't regret.

I'm going to, when I can start living off of steemit money.

great post! It is very informative and enternaining at the same time. It reports a complete life experience. I whish you the best in your journey.

You put a lot of work in this article and turned it into a great adventure. It gave me some inspiration on how I will express some experiences using all the pictures as support. Plus I need to get back in the gym and work on my wheel kick!

That is a fantastic post!!! Muay Thai seems to be like playing poker with your "fists, elbows, shins and knees." You are trying to read your opponents next move and your opponent is trying to determine if you have a good hand.

It definetely is. There is always an unguarded spot on your body.

cool, i cant wait to try this when i visit Thailand this year!

Wow, very informative. Great workout, intense training and a mindset that has to be 100% focused.

Yes. 100% focus or go home!

Awesome post! Great read. Martial Arts are great. I have trained 3 years karate and 7 years Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and I'm still training. I think I should write similiar kind of post of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. :)

i think its most beautiful and dangerous from all martial arts.

old memories coming back "ong bak"

I loved this post. Muay Thai is just great and this was a great read.
With some other martial arts styles, for instance, Tae Kwon Do, proponents use quick snapping kicks which are certainly faster to execute, although they contain a more limited power level. Muay Thai on the other hand, informs its students to follow up with quick kicks, employing the shin rather than the feet. Almost all of the approaches involved with Muay Thai emphasise motion using the whole body, which means swiveling the hip and waist each and every time the Muay Thai fighter uses kicks, punches, or defends. The strategies can be slower than some other arts, although they are much more effective and often more powerful than techniques found with Tae Kwon Do and even Karate for example.

As a number of people undoubtedly recognize, the training sessions and physical fitness training seen in Muay Thai is nothing at all short of fabulous (often thought of as being legendary) for the high intensity and painstaking training it involves. The training in Muay Thai aims to solidify the weapons employed in the martial art to a higher degree. Trainees who have been learning Muay Thai for long periods of time can easily absorb a pounding, yet if these guys secure a shinbone kick on an opponent it will feel as if you have just been smashed a sledge-hammer. Yes - they are that tough.

I have to conclude by saying, Muay Thai is definitely a lethal and very dangerous martial art which teaches punishing blows with little grappling. Thai stylists are physically solid, very strong despite their typical smaller stature, yet capable of taking an opponent down with just one well placed strike. Muay Thai is also among the most known and most popular fighting styles in the world today - which is the reason that one should not think twice to study it. There is bound to be a master instructor near you somewhere.
Thanks for your post again.

Thank you for taking time to reply. It seems to me that you know what you are talking about.

Good post. My memories of Muay Thai are from when I was living with a friend - & I wanted to train with him. Part of the training was smashing our shins with skateboards lol. I'm fascinated by Kung fu movies too and have quite a few. The older the better.

Although I'm a girl but I'm interested in Muaythai. Do u know Thai Fight match? Many foreigner participated this tournament. If you are in Thailand now, there is a Muaythai competition on August 20.

This is great! Are you still training in Muay Thai? I spent a month in Thailand at Tiger Muay Thai about five years ago and it was intense. It's part of a chapter for a book I'm going to start publishing on steemit in April. I'd love to connect with more people studying muay thai or any martial arts.

I also write poetry and train martial arts I followed you natelost!

I was so sad to hear Lumpinee came down.
This was a good read, all my life I have told people the first low kick that lands you say to yourself "why am I doing this?" so when I read it in your post it was awesome.
I think I will also do a post about my Mthai experience tho it is pretty minimal compared to your own.