My Past Life on TOUR and on Stage with **MILES DAVIS & FEMI KUTI** Photo taken in Italy 1984 - Music is my Passion !

in #massivevibrations8 years ago (edited)

So , here I was , sitting on Miles Davis , The Jazz legend's stage . HIS Stage ! 

LUCKY ME but how did I get here,I thought and when will his security throw me off stage, I was wondering but nobody bothered me and then HE walked up the stairs . Everybody was silent like his tune "In A Silent Way " from 1969 . He looked at me , moved on , stood still , turned around again and spoke to me . I was frozen for a second . I couldn't get one word out of my mouth, when he asked my name and who I am. Did I really have to blush like a silly Teenage Jazz Groupie, even though in my mid 20's . I wished , I would have taken some Valium , instead I was sipping on my second black coffee boosting my caffeine level to the max . 

Tour managers are always the first up and last in bed , so caffeine or cocaine essential to stay awake or even better weekly Vitamine B12 shots :) 

B&W PHOTO by Mammasitta , I think it was 1984 . Femi's band in the background 

I remember how speechless I was when I heard the first jazz albums , the days my first big crush introduced me to his favorite music collection, while we were puffing a few drops of cannabis oil or rolling joints like trumpets with the best Moroccan hash ( "black shit" as we called it ), smeared on a cigarette. Real magic on 100's of Vinyls , a feeling of freedom listening to Charly Parker , a "Bird" singing his notes just for us , it felt like a million of bees flying in our room , filled with smoke from Indian incense.Billie Holiday got "ALL OF ME". Nina Simone kept me "FEELING GOOD ": "Birds flying , Sun in the sky , Breeze driftin' on by , you know how I feel " . Chet Baker's "ALMOST BLUE " blew this lovely warm breeze through my heart with the sexiest voice I ever heard . 

Freedom was all mine ! 

JAZZ was and still is my  joy and all my sadness vanishes !

Miles made me fall in love back then , " I Fall in Love Too Easily " , oh yeah ........"SO WHAT


SO , I just finished organizing soundcheck for Femi Kuti , it was his first European tour and I was proud to be a part of history .  

Fela KUTI 's son , one of my African musical heroes , Nigeria's greatest musician who introduced himself to the world as : “My name is Fela Anikulapo-Kuti. Black president or Chief Priest of Shrine"

I was shooting black & white images every day and night , documenting his fabulous performances with his sisters , Sola one of them , dancing like African queens . 

I then joined the other bands soundcheck after my job was done , met Foley , Miles lead bass player , Joe Cocker's bassist , TM Stevens and my private VIP seat on all stages secured.

Miles & Femi captured in one shot was a personal highlight of my tour manager part-time jobs,  always a camera in my hand , ready for the special moments . I think , I might have taken thousands of pictures in a decade of pure musical pleasure meeting legends like James Brown , Chaka Khan , Kool & The Gang , Commodores , Cameo , Maze , Jimmy Cliff , Black Uhuru , Stanley Clarke , Al di Meola , Bobby Womack , Percy Sledge , even Prince and so many many many more ......

I would love to post them all on this platform but only ONE was left out of my stunning secret collection . At some point I might have scanned the original photo but I cannot really remember exactly how I ended up with this print on my computer. We did not have digital cameras , apps on smartphones , we had to buy film and develop prove-sheets after , to see which ones were good enough to print.on paper. 

When I moved away from my midtown Manhattan, Hells Kitchen loft , I only left a few important belongings  behind , wanted to bring them to Bali , Indonesia after being situated in a new life in SE Asia . Albums filled with memories on pictures were kept in boxes, waiting to be picked up. September 11, 2001 terror in New York . My plane left Bali that day , landed in Los Angeles where I was stranded for weeks , had to fly to Houston , Texas and 3 weeks later , I was finally arriving in NYC to look for half of my stuff I stored in a friends brownstone in Harlem . I found my valuables drowned in mud and water , after some flood in the basement .

Long story short , I came too late to get the other half in some expansive storage , I did not pay on-time due to all delays . All Gone ! 

Memories are stored in my head........so , now you might understand why this photo means so much to me .  

The message of my story : 

DO NOT FEAR MISTAKES - THERE ARE NONE ! - Miles Davis 

Here is one album I was playing on repeat when it came out ! I am not sure if some of you will remember . Enjoy and let me know if you like it 

Listen Miles-Davis-Doo-Bop from 1992 on Vimeo  ! 

Source : discogs.com Tracklist                                       

Keep on listening to good music kiddos ! :) 

Music  is a spiritual thing, you don't play with music. If you play with music  you will die young. You see, because when the higher forces give you the  gift of music...musicians hip, it must be well used for the gift of  humanity.  - Fela Kuti

The son of Afro-beat legend Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, Femi Kuti spent years playing in his father's band before eventually rising to super stardom following his father's death in the late '90s.

Credit for image & text goes to : http://www.afrobeatmusic.net/html/femi_bio_.html

I also would like to add very touching words by one of my best friends Wale Idris Adjibade from African Views 

For Sola : An ode to a mighty woman - October 10, 2015

RIP SOLA !


 ~If there was anyone single person I could summon back to life today, it would be Sola Anikulapo Kuti, sister of Yeni Anikulapo-Kuti Femi Anikulapo-kuti. Funke Kuit, Seun Anikulapo Kuti Dele Sosimi Kola/ Carol King and friend to so many including Silvie Iluh Cempaka . No one has ever made me feel so self worthy and accepted as Sola. You gave me much more than I could ever give you back. Gosh, I remember when Sola slap-kicked a couple on their faces in self-defense with her foot on one swing. And the shock on their faces, stunned. Who knew she make that Bruce lee move. She made me feel confident. The kind of feeling you get when someone competent had your back. Darn, I miss that feeling! She protected me when the wealthy multi million-dollar kid who used to date her tried to intimidate me. I was young naive and in love, and he was rough, arrogant, and bitter, but rightly so. 

Who wouldn't for Sola? She stood up for me in such a way that I recognized my vulnerability, her strength without making me feel less of myself. That takes a great deal of potential. It is the way everyone, man or woman wants to be loved. And I am glad, that I got to know that. Thanks to Soladegbin Anikulapo Kuti.   We shared many secrets, visions, thoughts, sorrows, jokes, laughs, adventures, flights, and so many fun stories.Thank you for opening my heart and mind to a greater vision of life.Thank you for sharing your heart, your beautiful family (who I love very dearly), your friends (who I cherish), your love and your joy with me. I really wish you were here to see Rolari Segun got married, and to see the genius that Made Anikulapo Kuti has become.You would have been so proud of your brother Femi Kuti and your sister Yeni for staying humble and true to the course. You'd be so proud to see all your very hard labor come to fruition. Thank you Yeni for letting me cry on your shoulder whenever I needed. You are so precious to me my sister. I think Sola would have loved the social media. I can't tell you how sorry I am that she passed on too early. 

Sola of all people deserve to be here longer with us. I miss her terribly and my life would have been much better and I would have been much happier if she were here. Not even necessarily with me, but just here still. Many people would be happier.   However, Sola is always alive in my heart where I have built for her a temple that has all pretty gems of the earth, that is loftier than the heavens, fleeter that the minds, and prettier than what can be conceived. And so she'd be forever loved. Sleep well my dear. Give my love to Mummy and Fela Kuti Anikulapo I envy them for having your precious company. You are mighty among all women. No doubt! What a girl !  

My reply: “Wale, those words for a beautiful soul and special woman really touched me ! I am so glad to be a little part of your destiny to meet this wonderful inspiring family .We had such great time on Femi's tour! Where are those photos, I lost them all ..... “   

EXCEPT THIS ONE!   

PS : My apology for grammar mistakes ( my native language is German ) but I try my best :) Thank you for reading that far !

Love from  your  Mammasitta   

Thank You Femi !!!

Sort:  

too bad can't upvote stuff after 7 days, s sounds like you have lived an interesting and amazing life, thanks for sharing!!!

That’s so sweet of you!
Can’t complain and it’s fun to tell stories like my Grandma used to do but Now it’s for the blockchain :) That’s quite an amazing opportunity for all of us.

yep transformative technology, hope the weekend is going well!!

I know this is one of the greatest moment you can never forget in your life style so far. Fela Anikulapo kuti is from my country (Nigeria) I love him so much when he was alive and after because he is one of my saxophonist mentor. Style of his playing and performance on stage gives me inspiration to rehearse. How I wish I have an opportunity to have a nice time with him like you did. @mammasita you are so funny MA of this statement "my apology for grammar mistakes" no one is perfect. Stay shining MA.

Wow! I just discovered your incredible comment right now....I am filled with deep emotions of gratitude and respect. Thanks for sharing this with me.......💜 I see this as a hint that it’s time to stop myself telling more stories.....there are many.....

@mammasitta OMG!!!!!!!!! :-) I know this was from last year, but OMG!!!!! Miles Davis, Foley, TM Stevens!!!??? That is so cool!!! I have some stuff Foley did with Lenny White and Benny Maupin. In fact my drummer used to play with Benny Maupin some years back. I am working on a solo project and a project with my Band: KING I will keep everyone posted. :-)

Hahhaa! Yeah! OMG! I can’t believe it myself that I am blessed with an incredible life, meeting musical “legends”. Having lots of fun and huge pleasure of sound. I lost my hearing to nearly 50% but it’s ok to keep my life a bit more quiet. 😋
It was the right time to quit the Biz.
I am fascinated once again with the Underground but This time it’s the cryptospace and My home became the blockchain. That’s a bit crazy for a woman of my generation. lol but I hope I can bring lots of musicians to our #Spaceistheplace”!
Make sure to keep me updated about KING! 1💜
It’s so good to see more and more musicians on the blockchain these days!

So Cool! 😊 I will keep everyone posted. I will b getting more live stuff posted soon as well. ✌🏾

I will watch out for your “music” Keep it flowing Mel! I try to be online as much as I can 💥💥💥

One word for you @mammasitta - Astonishing!

Wow I just saw your reply. Thank you!
I am blessed with a wonderful life and All You as My new friends!
Please come to the next @steemfest

Awesome memories.

Yes!!! Indeed and there are so many more I should write about. Some are already blurry

Super cool story! :D

Sweet Valentine ! Chat Baker for you :)!
Does anybody see if the blog look right ? A couple of pictures just vanished in my phone .😭 Need to fix later !

Nice! I was just listening to Kind of Blue. Thanks for the story.

It's 6 am here in Bali and I can't believe I am awake Hahaa ! Thanks so much ! Check his Doo "Bop " sound from 1992 ! Since I also love hip hop and Detroit techno this is an interesting one considering the year !

It's pouring rain here. This tune is perfect. Thank you!

Not many know
Of
This album ! I love it ! #timeless music should
Be !

I loved reading through and couldn't helping but thinking to myself:

Those were the days!

Your post also reminded me of the movie 'Almost Famous' for some reason. But your post is beautiful and I enjoyed reading through it. :)

I really like the music on the vimeo link you posted. It put me in a great mood to complete my article for a magazine. :)

That's so funny of you but I really need to work on formatting improvement . Agrrrrr !! This is an album not many know about Miles . Came out 1992 I think! Jazz and hip hop ! Hello ! That was different at that time ! Let me know how you liked the whole album . #thosewerethedays indeed !

Thanks for Sharing!

I can't get enough of Bud Powell and Barry Harris. Just BeBop legends.

Did you open the Vimeo link ? Worth a listen ! See you around @superfreek

Wow thanks for the link. Some good footage right there

My original photo I took just disappeared :( NOT COOL !!!

I wonder if anybody knows how to copyright a picture or what to do

My younger sister is a musician and I was her producer (I made 2,000 copies of a 45 RPM record for her) so I studied copyright at that time in order to know what I was doing. Copyright is automatic and you don't need to do anything. However, in order to PROVE ownership of a copyright, you need to have evidence of initial ownership! What we did was to wrap a tape recording or other form of proof of work, address it to myself and take it to the post office and have them stamp the wrapper with the date as proof of time. As long as the wrapper is intact, any challenge of copyright ownership can be proven by bringing the intact object to court and opening it there as proof of ownership. From that point on, the court documents will be the proof. This will work for pictures too.

I know you asked the question a year ago, but I only saw it now. Perhaps the answer still has value to someone.

Your answers always have huge value for me :)

Thanks mammasitta. I value your friendship.

WOW.

I can't even imagine. There's such a psychedelic quality to even just thinking what that all must have been like. those kinds of musical legends don't really exist anymore. such a magical era to have experienced, right up front & center...

Oh dear ! That's just the beginning 😝👻 means so much to me that you take time to comment and even like ! I need this ! Really do !

I am so glad you sent me this. Wow!. You really know them really well and the way you mentioned their names without mixing them up. I am delighted. Wow!. Such a great thing to see you met Femi Kuti. What a talented man. His style, lyrics, energy, passion, and moves are so adorable. I am so sorry you lost all your pictures. Pictures capture moments we might never get back again. So sorry about that. I wish something can still be done.

You have always been a very pretty woman. Wow!.

NB: You met Jimmy Cliff too? My favourite song from him is "I Can See Clearly Now". Love that song. I even posted the song last week or so.

I totally overlooked your comment :) Thanks so much for reading. The pictures of my memories are still imprinted in my mind and will ever vanish

I am always excited to read from you mama. Really glad you have that memory imprinted in your mind. This is one of the things that make life fun.