Math-Trail Magazine and Author Permissions

in #math7 years ago

Hello everyone

This is a short post that seeks to clarify author permissions for me to add a link to your work in each Math-Trail Magazine.

Firstly, I have never had a complaint from any content creator nor any refusals to include a link in these Magazines. However, some other subject-trails have had complaints. These were generally about the fact that the content within their curated collections were so detailed that a reader did not actually have to go to the original article! These included lengthy summaries and full-size images.

This is why I have taken a minimalist approach with a reduced size image, title, link and author - that's it, and let people explore what attracts them. Because of the 7-day earning period, these Magazines need to have a fairly quick turn-around to remain relevant and profitable to the author. All that copying and pasting and resizing probably takes a couple of hours to do each post - I myself wish it could be done faster but, for example, resizing using HTML image tags does not seem to work. During that time, I am often waiting for each author to give me permission to include their work.

So here comes the request: can all authors who have already been included in at least one Magazine give their permission to be included in any future articles too? This would also mean there is a bit more of a surprise as to the content of each issue, as permissions have to be asked in comments. I shall continue to request permission from new authors to be included.

On a related matter, I think I am the first to share the Magazine earnings with authors using the Reward Distribution function within chainBB forums. To check that you have received your share, go to your Wallet, click the Rewards button and go to Author Rewards; scrolling down, you should see a URL that begins with math-trail and the article in which your link was shared.

Thanks for reading. Please let me know if you give your consent for future magazines.

Sort:  

Permission granted for any and all of my posts, if you think any are appropriate.

Nice listings. I've found some interesting posts because of your magazine.

Thanks! There is usually very little feedback on those Maths Magazine posts, so thanks for the encouragement.

Yes, sure.
And don't miss out on adding the technical posts, even if the silly What is 2+3 QUIZ!? like posts make the most traffic here right now. Otherwise I'm gonna stick to programming.

I hope you have noticed that I neither upvote, promote nor publish any of those "Genius Quizzes". They have been thrown out of mathematics communities on both FB and G+ for being junk - they have (temporarily) found a new home here.

I also do look inside the physics and programming streams for articles that are mainly mathematical.

Yes you can. Permission granted.

You have my permission!

Permission granted! Sounds like you will link back! Thanks!

Permission granted. :)

I don't know why any author would want to refuse free additional exposure, particularly given the specific format in which you do these magazines.

Yes, but as I said, I chose that minimalist format to encourage readers to click the articles. I think some curators gave long descriptions or even reviews, meaning many people had enough information and didn't click the links to the original article! When I link to mathematical art, I reduce the size of the image so that you get the idea but the full version will be much more detailed.

IF my Math submissions were selected ( ouch... they were not), yes ofcourse I would grant permission. It takes quite a lot of time, so every possibility to have the information shared to a broader public is appreciated.

Is that a sales pitch? :-)

May I make one suggestion: the articles look interesting but the images look like they need a bit of care. It may take an extra 10 minutes but resize them and place them with a bit more sense of balance.

If anybody wishes to take a look, I'll gladly link to the most recent article:
https://steemit.com/math/@beesteem/math-patterns-in-nature-series-why-the-natural-world-looks-the-way-it-does-2-symmetry

Thanks for your constructive view! I ' ll take more care to that. I would love that the steemit markdown would give more technical assistance for layout templates etc. I played around with div class etc. But it needs a lot of effort and focus.

I agree with you - I just use basic HTML and it works fine. However, mixing markdown and HTML in the same paragraph can do unpredictable things.

Basic HTML tables also work.

Permission granted ;)

Roger Roger...Permission granted....KSCHSHSHSHHHHH...................