Sort:  

I did a research intership at Kyoto University. You should absolutely go if you have the chance.

The unfortunate thing about Kyoto University is that most internal seminars, classes etc are in Japanese. So you better learn some Japanese before you go :P . The international working evironment in Tokyo university is better.

Hey, that's cool. Did you ever meet Mochizuki (the abc-conjecture guy)?

I thought I can just learn Japanese along the way. Anyway, I don't really know how hard it is to qualify for these institutions though, so maybe my chances are close to nil.

The entrance exam is quite difficult. Kyoto university actually recommends applicants for the Phd program to first do a mathematics master at Kyoto University. Note there are certain scholarships which allow you to waver the entrance exam. I am not sure but I think it is this one -> http://www.studyjapan.go.jp/en/toj/toj0302e.html

Kyoto also offers cultural study programs called KUINEP. If you are looking for a gap year you can maybe try that.

For a math phd the odds are of course greater if you go for a lesser institute (Kyoto and Tokyo university are the top 2 universities of Japan). If you want more info hit me up on Discord under the same name.

I never met him. I think it was before the hype that I went to Kyoto. I was also in a different research group.

Hi, it's been months since I've last log in, I hope you're still active. I have a couple of questions about Kyoto U, I tried searching your name in Discord, but it seems like I need your DiscordTag for that. Are you willing to give your tag to me, or are there other ways for us to correspond? Thank you.

Hey. Long time no see. Just head over to the steemstem discord. You can find me over there :)

Posted using Partiko Android