Shooter - Animation Experimentation 1

in #maya7 years ago

So I said I'd post up some animation work I'm doing and this is the first of it though it's not that good yet, I need to take a look at some reference material for walk and run cycles which are easy to get and then it's just a matter of double checking that as I work since I don't have enough knowledge of animation yet to really do a good job on it.

The training area I was setting up is going to be somewhere where I can test these animations and actually have characters walking, running and patrolling around, I may even attempt more advanced things like having them roll, dive for cover and so on very much like in Halo: Combat Evolved and so on. This way, once I get everything working in code, I simply get my animations set up for my alien soldier and then everything should work okay.

I think one of my biggest challenges will be figuring out how to get the navmesh agents in Unity to 'dodge' when they have bullets coming towards them or a raycast pointed at them and taking cover will be an issue as well since you have to make them pick a cover spot based on how good that cover is and what direction the player is facing.