You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Me too...

in #me-too7 years ago

Please carry on posting your responses and replies to this. I'll read them all, just not quite yet.

My husband didn't even know about most of these events and I've been with him for 36 years.

Sort:  

It was a harrowing read, but I am grateful that you shared some of the darker corners of your life in order to raise awareness about this epidemic. Thank you.

It was the right time. Thank you for your comment.

Wow you are strong to have kept this within away from him. My word!

I'm not sure 'strong' is the right word. I think I just buried everything. He knew about some of the things... he wanted to go and confront my boss, but I wouldn't allow it. I kept away from him and I suppose being 'let go' was a relief... but there's a story in there too... somewhere.

@josediccus I just remembered your post about rape and its effects andhow victims are able to keep living even after being raped. You gave two reasons i.e the want for revenge and the desire to keep living. However, I kept thinking about it and I've come up with another way women are able to keep living after rape and it's HATE.

Hate might be so similar to revenge but it's not. Infact, the want for vengeance or revenge is birthed by hate. My theory is that many women after being raped begin to hate the man who did it to them and some might hate men in general and this hate might be what keeps them going. They might want to live and do well in life just to spite the man who did it to them and for some of them, I think the hate brews revenge which make the women keep living with the hope of making the man suffer later in the future.