You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Me too...

in #me-too7 years ago (edited)

No, it's not always about power. It's also about curiosity but when curiosity is combined with a belief that the curious can act on that curiosity when and with whom they feel like it, that's when the problem starts. If that curious person is not put right about the boundaries and respect for the other person's feelings too, then they believe they can get away with it whenever and wherever.

It's also about proof - there is no physical evidence that someone touched another. There's only mental evidence. Nightmares, feelings of inadequacy, doubt of self-worth.

I was led to believe my only worth was the way I looked and how attractive I was - that and whether I could cook, clean and serve a man, of course. That belief was also perpetuated by the women in my family.

Grandmothers that teach their girls to hoover and iron, wash the dishes, clean the house, look after the children... it all says - you must be subservient to your man, without a man, you are worthless.

Wrong!