You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Professional Batch of Mead

in #mead7 years ago

When I saw how red the hibiscus flowers made my latest batch, I was a little nervous. I was afraid the flowers would make it so the yeast wouldn't work. Man, was I wrong! That 6 gallon bottle had a storm brewing inside it within a day. The craziest thing about this is how easy it is. I'm kicking myself for not starting sooner.

Sort:  

It still gets exciting to me when activity is strong, and making new recipes is still fun. I finally started what will be my almond joy recipe (chocolate, almond, and coconut... and I need a better name for it). That airlock is bubbling furiously.

I have ceramic bottles from Dansk branded mead. Any recommendations on how best to prepare them for bottling of my first batch? I was thinking of just sterilizing them in a dish washing machine. Thoughts please?