You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Professional Batch of Mead

in #mead7 years ago

Ha, it's all good. When I started brewing 9 years ago I did the same, and some of my experimentals are fairly whimsical, though I do jot it all down.

Even in home brewing, but certainly professional brewing, knowing the ABV is pretty important. In pro, there's a magic tax line at 14% and anything above that is taxed at about 4x the rate.

Sort:  

Sheesh... that tax difference is ridiculous. Ugh.

I'm hoping for high teens, but I won't know for sure until the first batches I have settle a bit more. They could be opened now, but I'm waiting another month.

I should have added, use ec-1118 if you want high abv. That's a champagne yeast with an 18% alcohol tolerance, a nice flavor, and a decent temperature range.

I have been testing K1-V1116 also, and I'm not sure if it is a good idea. I know the EC-1118 and regular bread yeast taste good. Any experience with the K1?