You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Professional Batch of Mead

in #mead7 years ago

So it took much longer than I thought. The label was denied a couple of times (turns out in Texas wines can have a vintage but meads can't, even though legally they're both wine and there's no mead license). The batch took longer to age and I didn't use any oak in it because there were plenty of tannins.

That said, the label is approved, design is done, and I just have to send them to print now.

Unfortunately, Griffin Meadery, whose license I was brewing under, lost its head mazer and is considering closing down.... damn the timing. I'm waiting to talk to the remaining owner about steps forward. Worst case is I'll have 15 gallons of tart cherry mead at home. Best case is he decides to continue, maybe even with my help. We'll see.