You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reducing Meat Consumption: Absolutism vs. Compromise

in #meat4 years ago

Hi. It's a really good post :) I don't agree at 100% because, in my opinion, compromises are not acceptable when there are living beings.

This leads me to believe the real goal is spiritual: To change how people think of non-human animals, to change their hearts and their perspective on how we relate to the rest of the animal kingdom.

I loved this :)

Thanks for sharing with us. Have a nice day!

Sort:  

"I don't agree at 100% because, in my opinion, compromises are not acceptable when there are living beings."

Plants are living beings. Even as a vegan you cannot live without killing. Drawing an arbitrary line between the plant and animal kingdoms, saying everything on one side is ok to eat and everything on the other doesn't work either. What about mushrooms? Vegans eat those, but fungi aren't plants. Eventually you get back to a hierarchy of the moral value of lives depending on the size and complexity of their brains, which is what I advocate. It isn't airtight but imo it's more thought out than the "plants ok animals not ok" model.

Eventually you get back to a hierarchy of the moral value of lives depending on the size and complexity of their brains, which is what I advocate

I completely agree. As a scientist, I know the difference very well. Plants have complex silent communication mechanisms that have only recently been discovered and we could almost say that they too have a kind of humanity :) what I was referring to was that when you pick a courgette, a tomato, legumes, an apple, ... the plant does not die in itself, although there are plants that have an annual life cycle, but this is another speech. While when you kill an animal, pig or cow for example, that is forever. I like to adopt the philosophy of having the least possible environmental impact on this planet and that's why I chose the vegetable diet. Thanks again for the clarification, greetings :)