my project car (1994 Honda Accord lx 2.2 ltr)

in #mechanics6 years ago (edited)

20180125_140826.jpg

So i got a 1994 Honda Accord for $1600. The guy i bought it from had just replaced the timing belt, head gasket, water pump, battery, and starter. The car has 170K original miles which for a Honda it very good and miles to year is pretty good as well. So i went through with buying it. Three days later i noticed that the car was shifting hard. I don't usually drive automatic transmission cars because i hate it but i needed a good daily for a really good price because times are kinda hard right now. Also its a huge upgrade from 1986 dodge Ram 50 i have been driving with no back window in the cab. So on the fourth day the car stuttered and the check engine came on along with the D4 light flashing, this tells me that its actually a check transmission. So i pull the codes using the old school OBD1 way and get a code 14 which turns out to be an issue with the ECU communicating with the TCU(ECU= engine control unit, TCU=trans control unit). I bought a new ECU to fix it and new shift solenoids to make sure the hard shift wasn't from old solenoids as they are 170K miles old. I will post again on Friday my results after repair. Thanks all for reading plz upvote and follow....P.S half my phone screen is dead so i can only post from my computer at work or i would update sooner20180125_140845.jpg

Sort:  

wow that's a hell of a problem there if you ask me.... nice post

Thanks buddy look out for me on Friday, i'm gonna do a detailed post with pictures on fixing an issue like this. I have found tons of people saying that have the same issue so hoping this will help.